Helen Cooper

Helen Cooper

Helen Cooper is a British author and illustrator whose work includes classic titles such as 'The Bear Under the Stairs', the 'Pumpkin Soup' trilogy of books, 'The Baby Who Wouldn't Go to Bed', 'Tatty Ratty' and 'The Hippo at the end of the Hall'. Her books have been translated into over 30 languages and won many awards including the Smarties Prize children's choice and the Library Association Kate Greenaway Medal - twice. She was born in 1963 and grew up in the far North of England in a very rural area where milk came from the farm in a can, bears lived under the stairs, and it rained a great deal. There was no wifi, and the TV was tiny and black and white, with only two channels, and even those only worked when the clouds were the right shape. Ofcourse this meant there was more time to read and write and draw and play the piano. After qualifying to teach the piano, she wrote and illustrated her first picture book which was published by Hamish Hamilton in 1987. Since then she has written and illustrated a whole lot more. Recent work has included longer fiction for children. The first of those was 'The Hippo at the end of the Hall' which was both written and illustrated in black and white by Helen. The next chapter book will be published in 2023. Her newest Picture Book: 'Saving the Butterfly' is written by Helen and illustrated by Gill Smith. Other work includes contributions to a paper on Astrobiology with members of the Zoology department of Oxford University and a mural based on the book 'The Baby Who Wouldn't Go To Bed' which you can see at the Story Museum in Oxford. Read more on her website http//:helencooperbooks.co.uk Read less
Read more Read less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.