Joy Ellis

Joy Ellis

I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the Sixties and Seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early Eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss! And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and four Springer spaniels and one little rescue, Breton spaniel. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I write full-time, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre is a no-brainer! I have an on-tap police and judicial consultant, who makes exceedingly good tea! I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder! I am lucky enough to be one of the amazing Joffe Books team of authors and am really enjoying being able to spend time doing what I love... writing! The series so far:- DI Nikki Galena, the Fen Series Book One: Crime on the Fens Book Two: Shadow over the Fens Book Three: Hunted on the Fens Book Four: Killer on the Fens Book Five: Stalker on the Fens Book Six: Captive on the Fens Book Seven: Buried on the Fens Book Eight: Thieves on the Fens Book Nine: Fire on the Fens Book Ten: Darkness on the Fens Book Eleven: Hidden on the Fens Book Twelve: Secrets on the Fens Book Thirteen: Fear on the Fens Detective Nikki Galena Books 1-3 Boxset Detective Nikki Galena Books 4-6 Boxset Detective Nikki Galena Books 7-9 Boxset Detective Nikki Galena Books 1-5 Boxset DI Jackman and DS Marie Evans series so far:- Book One: The Murderer's Son Book Two: Their Lost Daughters Book Three: The Fourth Friend Book Four: The Guilty Ones Book Five: The Stolen Boys Book Six: The Patient Man Book Seven: They Disappeared Book Eight: The Night Thief Book Nine: Solace House Guide Star. A stand alone novel about love, loss and overcoming adversity. Beware the Past. Detective Matt Ballard Book 1 A stand alone thriller still set in the Fens, but with new characters and very different feel Five Bloody Hearts. Detective Mat Ballard Book 2 After overwhelming requests, this is a sequel to Beware the Past, with DCI Matt Ballard. The Dying Light. Detective Matt Ballard Book 3 Matt Ballard is now retired, but he and Liz still take on difficult cases, but as private detectives. Marshlight. Matt Ballard Book 4. They might have retired, but things are far from quiet for Matt and Liz! Trick of the Night. Matt Ballard Book 5.Matt and Liz find themselves needing to work with some of their old colleagues in the Force when they embark on a sinister case that is far more serious than first thought. These are available in both Kindle and paperback and now practically all of my books are available as audio books.
Read more Read less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus

Featured Article: 20 Best Mystery Audiobooks to Entertain Your Inner Sleuth

Looking for the perfect audiobook to keep you engrossed and engaged during your next long drive, weekend chores, or a long work day? Look no further than this list of puzzling, mind-bending mysteries that will have you holding on to every word as the narrator pulls you in on the search for clues. We’ve narrowed this wide-spanning genre down to 20 of the best mystery audiobooks we’ve heard so you can get to listening and searching for answers.

Best Sellers

Are you an author?

Help us improve our Author Pages by updating your bibliography and submitting a new or current image and biography.