• 212: A Novel

  • Ellie Hatcher, Book 3
  • By: Alafair Burke
  • Narrated by: Madeleine Maby
  • Length: 10 hrs and 20 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (51 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"The plot of an Alafair Burke thriller doesn’t just rip from the headlines. She’s one step ahead of them. 212 scares you and keeps you turning the pages into the wee hours." (Harlan Coben)

"Burke has created a strong female protagonist in the tradition of Sara Paretsky’s V.I. Warshawski and Marcia Muller’s Sharon McCone.... Utterly authentic." (Boston Globe)

212 is acclaimed author - and former deputy district attorney - Alafair Burke’s gripping thriller featuring hip, Manhattan-based detective Ellie Hatcher. Fans of Lisa Gardner, Sandra Brown, Karin Slaughter, Harlan Coben, Sue Grafton, and PJ Tracy will find it hard to stop listening to 212 until the very last moment.

©2010 Alafair Burke (P)2019 HarperAudio

What listeners say about 212: A Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not stellar

Not up to par with other books by this author. I really dislike even a narrator tries to "play" every character. Just read the book.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Couldn't finish it

I've listened to a few of Alafair Burke's books and liked them. But this one, after about an hour listening to the drone of the narrarater, I couldn't do it any longer. I rarely abandon a book, but this one was slow starting and the boring tone was unbearable.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Belinda Norton
  • Belinda Norton
  • 04-26-22

Duplicate book

As the other reviewer states this is a duplicate. I too will return if I can. Shame I had already bought it

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 09-01-19

Not a new book

This is not a new book in the Ellie Hatcher series. It is “city of lies” (book 3 I think) with a different narrator. Very disappointed as I was looking forward to it and had on preorder. Returned.