• A Dark Sin

  • The Hidden Norfolk Murder Mystery Series, Book 8
  • By: JM Dalgliesh
  • Narrated by: Greg Patmore
  • Length: 8 hrs and 18 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (71 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
A Dark Sin  By  cover art

A Dark Sin

By: JM Dalgliesh
Narrated by: Greg Patmore
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Our darkest secrets are best left buried....

When a local journalist is found dead in an isolated spot on Roydon Common, lying beneath a hangman's noose on the anniversary of a teenager's suicide, DI Tom Janssen is asked to take on the investigation as a favor to local colleagues and must unpick the deceased man's life to discover how he came to be there. The dead man was working on something, a story he was keeping close to his chest, and even those closest to him, loved ones and colleagues, were kept in the dark. He had his own secrets, a side to his character that he rarely showed to others unless they were unlucky. But what did he know that was so damaging as to be worth killing for?

As the team delve into his life, past and present, the investigation pulls in successful business people, grieving family members, and a local celebrity with fascinating stories to tell. As the investigation develops, it becomes clear that more than one person is harboring a secret...but are they secrets that are worth a man's life? As past sins threaten to be exposed, will someone be forced into killing again?

Set within the mysterious beauty of coastal Norfolk, this fast-paced British detective novel is a dark murder mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end, when the final shocking twist is revealed. A Dark Sin is the eighth novel in the Hidden Norfolk series of thrillers from the million-selling British crime writer, JM Dalgliesh, the author of the Dark Yorkshire books. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, JD Kirk, Angela Marsons, Alex Smith, and Damien Boyd.

©2021 Jason Dalgliesh (P)2021 Hamilton Press Limited

What listeners say about A Dark Sin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good stories but….

The characters are inconsistent. In one mother & daughter are blonde. In the next the same characters are described as dark haired.

In another a main character’s family members are described as guilt laying vegans. A few books later they’re cooking meat.

I guess in the grand scheme, it makes no difference, but it’s still annoying.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Yo
  • 05-28-22

A Dark Sin

Great storyline excellent narrator! I usually figure them out but not this one.
I would recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Binging Books Ever

Page turner, stop in my driveway to finish a chapter
Totally a mystery with characters that are interesting and different but work together to solve these wonderfully deep diving mysteries. I can’t stop going book to book and I only hope this great author keeps writing 😎

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not bad, not bad ..

Dalgliesh's rather spotty writing performance is on the up with this one, plot-wise.
Not so much character-wise, as he can't seem to make a real person out of Tamara's mother, and Tamara herself is a bit annoying when dealing with her.
But at least the storyline is good and confusing. :D

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane Shepherd
  • Jane Shepherd
  • 11-28-22

Good story, shame about some of the characters

J M Dalgliesh please kill off Cassie, ghastly self opinionated character.

Thank you for the vegan Tamara but why do children put up with appalling parents? I was lucky that my mother was an exceptional person, strict but fair and she never expected me to produce brats (nor did my aunt and uncle I’m glad to say but then they didn’t produce either) in fact no one ever even asked me if I wanted children. My husband was the parfit gentle knight and on our first date aged 14 and 15 ( we had never spoken before and only seen each other for seconds on two occasions) we went through everything I could think of, eg I wanted to go to university, he had just started an apprenticeship as an electrician, at the time I was an agnostic now atheist and he said he was an atheist, then agreed we didn’t want children, all laid out and perfectly suited! Why Tamara didn’t put her ghastly mother in her place at the outset I can’t imagine, being an otherwise strong career woman. I so hope she grows a backbone in the next book and firmly ousts her appalling mother out of her life.

This series has excellent plots and some interesting characters and I’ll be listening to the next one soon,

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maureen Lamb
  • Maureen Lamb
  • 01-08-22

good book

good read enjoy all his book waiting for another one to come out
cant wait

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 12-05-21

Love ❤️ so love it

I really love these series for one reason JMDalgliesh writes with cleverness and unexpectedness and Greg Patmore has a marvellous voice making the stories delicious to hear.