adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of A Court of Thorns and Roses and Uprooted, this stand-alone, fantasy romance about a human girl and her marriage to the Elf King is impossible to put down! The elves come for two things: war and wives. In both cases, they come for death.

Three thousand years ago, humans were hunted by powerful races with wild magic until the treaty was formed. Now, for centuries, the elves have taken a young woman from Luella's village to be their Human Queen. To be chosen is seen as a mark of death by the townsfolk. A mark 19-year-old Luella is grateful to have escaped as a girl. Instead, she's dedicated her life to studying herbology and becoming the town's only healer.

That is, until the Elf King unexpectedly arrives...for her. Everything Luella had thought she'd known about her life, and herself, was a lie. Taken to a land filled with wild magic, Luella is forced to be the new queen to a cold yet blisteringly handsome Elf King. Once there, she learns about a dying world that only she can save. The magical land of Midscape pulls on one corner of her heart; her home and people tug on another...but what will truly break her is a passion she never wanted. A Deal with the Elf King is a complete, stand-alone novel, inspired by the tales of Hades and Persephone, as well as Beauty and the Beast, with a "happily ever after" ending. It's perfect for fantasy romance fans looking for just the right amount of steam and their next slow-burn and swoon-worthy couple.

©2020 Elise Kova (P)2021 Elise Kova

What listeners say about A Deal with the Elf King

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    403
  • 4 Stars
    129
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    412
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    348
  • 4 Stars
    118
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A big unanswered question.

I get the mixed reviews, but it is a cute story. There isn’t any cheating in the book, but it is discussed that the king only has heirs with other Elves, to keep the bloodline pure. I want to know if he’s still going to hold to that or not. That changes everything.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as I hoped

I really wanted to like this book. It had a cool world and an interesting concept. But Luella was so frustratingly blind that I spent a good deal of time muttering under my breath, calling her an idiot.

The audiobook narration was alright. The production quality was good.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

it was fine.

It was just okay. It flows, but I think it wasn't the most interesting thing. didn't struggle to finish it, but I definitely jumped around to other books while listening cause it couldn't keep my attention fully.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

characters lacking

The beginning of the book was promising, but the author uses exposition too much.

The male characters lack motivation beyond wanting to marry the main character.

The main character is annoying. She's frustrating in a 'written by a teenager' kind of way. She's argumentative when she should observe the works around her, and asks questions instead of investigating and discovering.

The author needs to trust the reader more.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Protagonist Dummy

The protagonist is supposed to be a powerful, smart queen but so many of her thoughts and actions are SO dumb.

The love story here is cute.

Decent story and I was entertained.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good

Wow I love this book: I love how strong both characters are. Can’t wait to read the next book! Elizabeth Evans did an amazing job at narrating

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully well written

I can never get enough of beauty and the beast retellings but this one tugged at my heart and i cried with Luella so many times. There was so much of this story i fell in love with i found i had to stop to catch my breath sometimes. It was well written and so well told i cant put it into proper words!! If i could give it more than 5 stars i would, this will be one of my top reads for a long time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not worth it

Lovely performance, as always, from Elizabeth Evans... to bad it was wasted on such a dull, flat and predictable story with no character development. Waste of time and money.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

typical romance fantasy

character wasn't dumb which I liked, pretty much a romance only book with some other stuff thrown in. I didn't hate it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The story good but I felt like it was missing something.

It was a good story but felt like there was something missing to take it to the next level

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pola
  • Pola
  • 10-10-21

Major Meh

Nothing really stoles the heart in this story. I couldn't relate to MC with her constant talk about duty. All felt very repetitive, predictable.
The way Evans reads men sometimes just don't do it for me.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-30-21

Good story beautifully narrated!

A good story from beginning till end. Never getting boring or unnecessary repeating anything to full out the pages. Apreciated the characters, and the narrator is perfekt in every way. Her voice is pleasent, the pace and tone is good and she Just make me want to leasten!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-18-21

Great

I Would recommend for the ACOTAR fan. I throughly enjoyed it. Couldn’t put it down

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-16-21

may be fantasy but the characters are unbelievable

Even getting past the narration which lacks distinction between characters, there are so many plotholes and unanswered questions in this mediocre writing. It may be fantasy, but the characters are entirely unbelievable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-07-21

You MUST get this

I loved every second of it, my goodness what a read.
Will not disappoint.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amy
  • Amy
  • 10-31-21

Cringe-worthy

If you can handle the narrator's annoying vocal sliding then brace yourself for the lack of substance in this cringe-worthy tale. The author has tried to make the main character an independent woman but has failed miserably, reflected in an abundance of immaturity.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Isabelle
  • Isabelle
  • 10-29-21

Sucked me in unexpectedly!

I wasn't expecting to enjoy this book as much as I did! I loved the characters and the slow burn build up of their relationship! I wish there was more of these characters.