1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.18

Buy for $31.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Narrator Jesse Vilinsky offers mesmerizing performances of two odd young folks who are proving their worth to the world and each other" -- AudioFile Magazine (Earphones Award Winner)

"An utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors and ancient forests. Allison Saft crafts a deliberate, intricate romance that will have you as unmoored as the characters." —Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

A romantic YA fantasy perfect for fans of Erin A. Craig and Margaret Rogerson, about two people who find themselves competing for glory—and each other's hearts—in a magical fox hunt.

When Margaret Welty spots the legendary hala, the last living mythical creature, she knows the Halfmoon Hunt will soon follow. Whoever is able to kill the hala will earn fame and riches, and unlock an ancient magical secret. While Margaret is the best sharpshooter in town, only teams of two can register, and she needs an alchemist.

Weston Winters isn’t an alchemist—yet. He's been fired from every apprenticeship he's landed, and his last chance hinges on Master Welty taking him in. But when Wes arrives at Welty Manor, he finds only Margaret. She begrudgingly allows him to stay, but on one condition: he must join the hunt with her.

Although they make an unlikely team, they soon find themselves drawn to each other. As the hunt looms closer and tensions rise, Margaret and Wes uncover dark magic that could be the key to winning the hunt—if they survive that long.

In A Far Wilder Magic, Allison Saft has written an achingly tender love story set against a deadly hunt in an atmospheric, rich fantasy world that will sweep you away.

"Innovative, romantic, and intoxicating. A Far Wilder Magic is a diamond of the YA fantasy genre, with a fresh and artfully layered world and extraordinary characters to match." —Amanda Foody, author of Ace of Shades

A Macmillan Audio production from Wednesday Books.

©2022 Allison Saft (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

Critic Reviews

BUZZFEED, "New Young Adult Books Releasing Winter 2022"

EPIC READS, "Most Anticipated 2022 YA Books"

GOODREADS, "The 68 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2022"

THE NERD DAILY, "72 Upcoming YA Book Releases To Add To Your TBR"

UNITED BY POP, "60+ Anticipated 2002 YA Releases From January to June"

“Much like Shadow and Bone, A Far Wilder Magic by Allison Saft features a land consumed by anti-immigration and antisemitic thought. At its core is a tradition: a hunt for a magical beast. For anyone wanting a romantic fantasy storyline, this one is between a sharpshooter and an alchemist.”—Buzzfeed 

“If simmering romance between two people with their walls all the way up is your jam, then this book will win your heart…When they eventually let each other in, it’s as satisfying as these things get. …Romantic but not romanticized, A Far Wilder Magic suggests that the true quest isn't hunting the mythical beast, it's finding the truth within yourself.”—NPR.org 

"Deeply entrancing. Teeming with magic and alchemy, A Far Wilder Magic is an utterly transportive read, unfolding into a world of crumbling manors and ancient forests. Allison Saft crafts a deliberate, intricate romance that will have you as unmoored as the characters."—Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights 

What listeners say about A Far Wilder Magic

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Charming

This was such a magical little story. I really enjoyed it and the narration is excellent. The voice changes are great. The characters are charming too with their strength and their flaws. I also might be a bit biased because the redwoods is one one of my favorite places to be.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

A dreamy book of reality and fantasy! It was read exquisitely And kept making me long for more every time I had to stop! Highly recommend

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

More than a romance

Saft shows more understanding of alchemy than 95% of authors who like to drop that trendy word into their narrative. Of course, she infuses it with magic and a modern-ish setting, otherwise the story would feel too historical. Saft used "alchemy" as a replacement for "wands and spells", to the point of excess. My impression is that history does drive this story, with thinly-veiled references to American anti-(insert religion) and anti-immigrant bias. The fox-hunt seems more east-Atlantic and the western religious garb adorns eastern metaphysics (just speaking in vague terms here). The story artistry could use more subtlety, less narrator-based world-building and adjectival heavy handedness in the opening chapters, and less obvious story-arcs in the latter chapters.
But the important thing is that even this non-YA reader felt drawn into the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect romance full of far wilder magic!

I rarely give reviews, but I loved this book entirely. The characters, the story, the romance. I love diving into Maggie’s and Weston’s emotions and falling in love with each character. Each character was beautifully mapped out both full and complete. Easily a 5 star for me. Well done Allison Saft, can’t wait to read more.
Ps Jesse Vilinsky gave an amazing performance <3

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best of the Best

Brimming with incredible banter, wildly realistic and endearing characters, and tender moments, A Far Wilder Magic is something special. It's becoming increasingly clear I have a soft spot for unabashedly flawed, prickly heroines who keep the world at an arm's length, and heroes who hide behind a charming smile, and Allison Saft does it /so well/ here. I fell completely for Margaret and Wes as they fell for each other, and I challenge even the most jaded reader not to. This also cemented Jesse Vilinsky as one of my favorite narrators - her city slicker accent was a huge highlight <3

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book was very good!!

Narration wise:

It took me a second to get used to the narrator. The narration felt off for me in the first chapter. It didn’t feel like she was reading…more like talking to someone abruptly in a nasally voice despite there not being actual dialogue. Once it switched over to chapter 2, it flowed better. I suppose I got used to it and found that the narration was excellent for the rest of the story.


The actual story:

I loved how lyrical & whimsical this story was. It was written beautifully. The author took the grumpy x sunshine trope and made it work in her way. To my utter delight, SHE is the grumpy one and HE is the sunshine. This story is the most unique one I’ve read in a long time and I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like it. It was refreshing.

A lot of the interactions between both the main characters had me feeling giddy & I enjoyed that we got to see the story play out through both POVS.

My only complaint is I felt the love story shifted too fast for my liking??I don’t typically read fantasy standalones. So this could be why I felt this way (given that I’m used to characters pining for one another and finally getting together throughout various books). Also, the story taking place in different/older time period could have contributed as well.

This book had a lot of representation. It has themes of religious persecution, belonging, dyslexia, feeling outcast, parental neglect, emotional abuse, sapphic characters and the many facets of love.

The characters:

At first Margaret felt rough and shut out but as the book progressed you grow to love her… and it happens rather quickly. I definitely felt like I related to her in some ways and found myself wanting to give her a big hug in many parts of the book.

I had a love/hate relationship with Wes…mostly love. It annoyed me whenever he would mention (to himself) that Margaret wasn’t beautiful or how she was ALMOST pretty yet every other girl he stumbled upon had him easily swooning /was in love and mentioning that they were the most beautiful person he’d ever seen. Other than that, he was charming and funny. I loved that he is very soft/protective with Margaret.

I really enjoyed this book, I felt like it conveniently wrapped up rather fast at the end but overall 5 stars across the board.

.