adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She was dressed in a long white gown, embroidered with tiny flowers. Her body was wrapped in colourful ribbons that floated in the breeze. But underneath the swathe of golden hair, a string of darkly smudged bruises ringed her neck. 

As May Day dawns in the peaceful village of Middle Fenton, a young woman is found brutally strangled, her body tied up with ribbons in the middle of the green. A week later, her boyfriend is found hanged in a local barn, and the police assume guilt over murdering his beloved has driven him to suicide - but not everyone is convinced.

WPC Trudy Loveday and coroner Clement Ryder are sent to investigate, and quickly realise that there’s a double murderer on the loose.

But the killer has already shown willingness to remove anyone who threatens to discover their identity....

As Trudy and Clement circle in on the culprit, can they crack the case before they too come to a nasty end?

Perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, LJ Ross and Val McDermid, this is one murder mystery you won’t be able to put down!

©2021 Faith Martin (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about A Fatal Affair

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mesmerizing!

I started a very hard task. This book helped me finish! Done and done! Mesmerizing book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another good read!

I started this series after completing the Hillary Greene books. Love the author and narrator!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well done

This is a series that I tend to pre-order. I had missed the previous book so I had two in a row to read. Which was good because the last book had an ending that begged for the next one.

I liked this book. There were many options as to who is responsible for the murder of the May Queen. One possibilities is the son of the Police Superintendent who was found hanged in a friend’s barn. He had been dating the May Queen. Was it another murder or suicide?

WPC Trudy Loveday is assigned to look into this together with City Coroner Clement Ryder. They work so well together. Trudy is still having to prove herself to her DI. And there’s a pesky reporter from the previous book who shows up when he’s least expected.

As expected, Stephanie Racine does an excellent job with the narration.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ali Elmes
  • Ali Elmes
  • 11-16-21

Love the Ryder & Loveday series

Whilst I was really excited to get the next instalment off this series, I felt rather much that it was rushed off and that it lacked some of the wonderfully magical touches that make it a story from yesteryear. I love the characters, but to find them suddenly swearing really grated with me. There’s no way Clement would ever have sworn in front of Trudy, if he ever swore at all. Trudy would not use coarse language either - back them nice girls just didn’t. It seems that this has been done to make it, what, more cool? Down with the kids? It’s a pity. That and the long drawn out nature of some scenes , taking so long to explain situations make it a less well written outing for this otherwise fabulous author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diane Walmsley
  • Diane Walmsley
  • 10-26-21

excellent mystery.

superb listen and wow so full of twists and turns, it made me dizzy, i had to keep listening
can't wait for the next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Casserole75
  • Casserole75
  • 06-05-21

Excellent performance by narrator

I really enjoyed it. Faith Martin is always good at murder mystery as always and she didn't disappoint.
It was the narrator, Stephanie Racine that did it for me. She is a brilliant voice actor, ranging in her skills from a country farmer to a drunk Welsh man, and to a group of gossiping village women, not to mention the main characters an Oxford Doctor and a young WPC. She really brought the story to life, thus making an already very good book, even better. 10/10, Stephanie.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicky W
  • Nicky W
  • 03-10-21

👍

Love all Faith Martin audiobooks. Would love more as now have listened to all of the various detective stories. All well with listening to

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robyn
  • Robyn
  • 07-01-21

An exciting plot.

Enjoyed so much about this book. The plot is intricate and the narrator does a fantastic job. I think this is one of Faith Martin’s best works.