• A Fatal Night

  • Ryder and Loveday, Book 7
  • By: Faith Martin
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Racine
  • Length: 8 hrs and 52 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (85 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.81

Buy for $15.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

New Year’s Eve, 1962.

As a snowstorm rages outside, Oxford high society gathers to ring in the new year at the city’s most exclusive party. This is a soirée no one will forget...not least because a guest is found dead in his car the next morning.

It seems the young man tragically froze to death overnight after crashing into a snowdrift - but when WPC Trudy Loveday and coroner Clement Ryder are called in to investigate, they discover a tangled web of secrets that plainly point to murder.

With everyone telling different stories about that fateful night, only one thing is clear: several people had reason to want the victim dead.

If Trudy and Clement don’t find the cracks in each lie, the killer will get away with the perfect crime....

Perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, L. J. Ross and Agatha Christie, this mystery will keep you hooked until you’ve solved the case.

©2021 Faith Martin (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about A Fatal Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book

A very good book. I like Trudy and the Doc in this, their seventh book. And now we have Vincent. Very interesting.

The story was good. I didn’t guess who-done-it but I didn’t give it too much thought and let the investigation go forward.

Excellent narration by Stephanie Racine.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

5

Tons of snow, roads blocked, town closed, a body. And so it begins. I liked this one a lot.
We are treated to a full cast of interesting characters,
lots of talking, lots of hot tea brewing for anyone who walks just a short way. I remember Britain's historic artic winds
blizzards a few years ago. Here it is.
Not a disaster story, just fine detective work.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A good cozy mystery.

I like my books to be rougher than this book, but it was just what I needed as a respite from what I’m used to. Characters are developed and main characters are likable. This book is a clean, nice story with a few twists. I enjoyed it, and now will go back to the dregs of society with their murders.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My Only Disappointment is I Finished It Too Quick

I love the time and setting of these novels, but the characters are what make them shine. I’m drawn in and entertained the entire length of the novel. My only disappointment is I’m done and have to wait for the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best One Yet

Have listened to the entire series. This was the best one yet. Can't wait to see Trudy get some positive recognition.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great edition to this series

Nice change of pace in the plotting of this story. I especially enjoyed the edition of Dr Ryder's son and hope he becomes a regular. The editors synopsis describes the storyline. I would not recommend this book as a stand alone. Start at the beginning, each book is worth a credit.












1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If I could have given a 7 8 or 9 I would have.

This was a very enthralling mystery. The characters were really interesting. I loved the cat fight. Both the women and the men. It was truly funny. Faith Martin did just a marvelous job of writing this kind of mystery. Stephanie Racine was terrific as narrator. I can hardly wait for the next in this series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K E Webb
  • K E Webb
  • 11-14-21

Brilliant

Another great instalment of the Ryder and Loveday series . Plenty to keep you guessing and some very devious characters !
Thoroughly enjoyed it , now sighing at the wait for the next one .

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane
  • Jane
  • 08-02-22

Excellent as always

Another good story by Faith Martin.
Good plot although not terribly complicated. The real interest to me is the relationship between Clement and Trudy.
I fear we may be coming to a conclusion soon though with this relationship .
Excellent narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for justmurr
  • justmurr
  • 12-20-21

Excellent

Another very good story in the Ryder and Loveday series, well read and no obscene language.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jan smith
  • jan smith
  • 12-12-21

Brilliant

I’ve enjoyed this audio book, a great story which kept me interested all the way through

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 12-07-21

Yes I enjoyed that very much

This was a well written and well narrated story. I like faith Martin’s writing it’s not the best story I’ve read but reasonably.