• A Good Enough Mother

  • A Novel
  • By: Bev Thomas
  • Narrated by: Rebecca Lacey
  • Length: 10 hrs and 10 mins
  • 3.7 out of 5 stars (38 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"Taut, absorbing and psychologically astute, in A Good Enough Mother Bev Thomas combines all the tension of a thriller with the emotional resonance of a powerful family drama." (Paula Hawkins, number one New York Times best-selling author of The Girl on the Train)

"Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient." (Booklist)

A riveting novel that lets us inside the secret world of therapist and patient, where boundaries get crossed, and events spiral out of control....

Ruth Hartland is a psychotherapist with years of experience. But professional skill is no guard against private grief. The mother of grown twins, she is haunted by the fact that her beautiful, difficult, fragile son Tom, a boy who never "fit in", disappeared a year and a half earlier. She cannot give up hope of finding him, but feels she is living a kind of half life, waiting for him to return.

Enter a new patient, Dan - unstable and traumatized - who looks exactly like her missing son. She is determined to help him, but soon her own complicated feelings about how she has failed her own boy cloud her professional judgment. And before long, the unthinkable becomes a shattering reality....

An utterly compelling drama with a time bomb at its core, A Good Enough Mother is a brilliant, beautiful story of mothering and how to let go of the ones we love when we must.

©2019 Bev Thomas (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"A taut, intelligent psychological thriller.... Thomas plots her twists and turns so ingeniously that even veteran suspense readers will be floored.... Thomas joins the ranks of first-rate masters of misdirection who delight in artfully distracting us readers from the terrible truths planted right before our eyes.” (The Washington Post

A Good Enough Mother is both a heartbreaking story of love and loss and a hopeful meditation on the winding path to healing.” (BookPage

“[An] exceptional debut.... Thomas melds astute psychological insight with powerful storytelling in this moving thriller.” (Publishers Weekly)  

What listeners say about A Good Enough Mother

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Could not finish.

So boring I couldn't finish. So much complaining I couldn't listen. it was irritating. Save your money.