• A Harvest Murder

  • The Ham Hill Murder Mysteries, Book 3
  • By: Frances Evesham
  • Narrated by: Charlotte Strevens
  • Length: 6 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (104 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
A Harvest Murder  By  cover art

A Harvest Murder

By: Frances Evesham
Narrated by: Charlotte Strevens
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One unexplained disappearance is strange, but two are sinister.

In Lower Hembrow, an idyllic village nestled beneath Ham Hill in Somerset, the villagers are preparing to enjoy the autumn traditions of the rural English countryside until Joe Trevillion, a curmudgeonly local farmer and the father of six children, vanishes.

When Adam Hennessy, the ex-detective proprietor of The Plough, the village's popular Inn, investigates, he finds ominous undercurrents beneath apparently harmless rumour and gossip.

Meanwhile, a vicious campaign of vindictiveness forces Adam and his three amateur sleuth friends to dig deep into the secret lives of their neighbours to expose the source of a cruel vendetta and prevent another death.

As they uncover the disturbing truth, the friends learn they must also lay their own past lives to rest before they can hope to make their dreams for the future come true.

A cosy mystery series from the bestselling author of A Village Murder and A Racing Murder, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and M.C. Beaton.

©2022 Boldwood Books (P)2022 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about A Harvest Murder

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Charlotte Strevens is the star here

Charlotte Strevens is masterful in the way that she can present different voices, both male and female. The ambiance and cast of this story is wonderful but the plot is a bit weak. Just how many murders can touch the same people? The idea that two different men. neither of which knew beach other, would relocate to Lower Hembrow to harm Dan is a ridiculous idea. I just could not get past that notion.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mystery, murder & romance

Great addition to this series as a disappearance and then murder has Imogen and Adam trying to solve all this in the midst of harvest time snd Guy Fawkes Day. Plot keeps you guessing and the resolution is quite satisfying.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Perfect for autumn!

Enjoyed this book, narrator was excellent as always. Perfect for autumn! I recommend reading the first two books in the series first for the back stories and relationship stories. That would make this one even more enjoyable.
I appreciate so much that this author doesn't resort to vulgarity in any way. So refreshing!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Bravo! Fabulous

I can’t hardly wait for the next in this series. Relationships, building plans, children etc. are all in place for another cozy mystery. I love these characters. Introduction of new people was smooth. Perhaps we will meet Pierre’s mother. Love the narration. Keep them coming. So happy to have discovered this genre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed!

I’ve enjoyed this series more than I expected to. They are a cut above the usual “cozy” mystery, intelligent, well written and the characters are well developed. Hope there’s more to come!
Highly recommended!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting and Smooth Cozy Mystery

If you are an Evesham fan, this novel will not disappoint. I really enjoyed this novel. The holiday celebrations are always a welcome peek into rural English country life. The characters truly come to life. Happy reading!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable

I've been enjoying these cozy mysteries. I'm delightfully pleased. Cage wait to read the next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Stop Posting Spoilers!

As in the review above...how is this getting past Audible staff? And it is certainly not the 1st I've seen. Do better Audible!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for paul m jackson
  • paul m jackson
  • 08-31-22

Wonderful

Really enjoy listening to France’s series of books and Charlotte is such a good reader

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennie Wood
  • Jennie Wood
  • 08-07-22

brilliant

another great book by Francis Evesham.
Good twist near the end of the book, couldn't stop listening Charlotte screens is a fantastic narrator. looking forward to more book 🤞

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Valerie Peachey
  • Valerie Peachey
  • 07-25-22

A good read with an interesting c story.

Would definitely not keep you awake at night, thankfully a non bloody murder, with a twist at the end!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for old english chewie
  • old english chewie
  • 07-17-22

A cosy whodunit.

I enjoyed this story , the narration was good and i recommend it to anyone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jay
  • Jay
  • 07-03-22

This was a wonderful story!

I really enjoyed this book Charlotte Strevens is fantastic as the narrator, she brings the characters to life with great heart. This story was to be honest a bit predictable to a degree but the way it was handled was interesting and refreshing. The conclusion to the murderer was very satisfying. And the ending of the story was excellent I was very happy for the people involved... This is book three in the series and I can't wait until the next book. Frances Evesham is a brilliant author and I hope she continues to with this series. I would like to see more of the couple's working together with Rose the daughter getting involved in a mystery and working with Adam as he teaches her police tactics and skills and her mum gets jealous and has a go at him. I think that would be a lovely dynamic as their relationship grows.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dtt
  • dtt
  • 11-24-22

Soothing and appealing

The characters are appealing and the prose pleasant. The plot is predictable but not boring- the narration is unobtrusively skilled- unlike Penelope Keith, who elevates the Agatha Raisin series, the reader delivers a believable cast of characters without, however, making more of the book than what is there. Enjoyed the soothing quality overall…