adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The girl’s long black hair clings to her face like seaweed. Her beautiful eyes are open, unseeing. And a thin line of flesh circling the base of her ring finger has been removed. It’s just like the others....

When Agent Nadine Finch gets the call about the broken body of a young woman found drifting in Sarasota Bay, Florida, she pretends it’s just another case: but deep down, she’s lying to herself. Even though she changed her name, Nadine has always known her family’s dark past would catch up with her eventually.

Examining the wound around the victim’s finger, a cruel imitation of a wedding ring, she knows for sure: someone has started killing young women in exactly the same way Nadine’s serial-killer mother did 20 years ago. 

There’s only one place she’ll find answers. And until she does, every woman in this close-knit community is in danger. At the prison, Nadine flinches as she hears her mother’s soft voice - such a contrast to those cold, cruel eyes - for the first time in decades.

"Hi baby. I’ve been expecting you...."

A gripping thriller that will have you racing through it until the final, jaw-dropping twist. Perfect for fans of Rachel Caine, Lisa Gardner and Mary Burton.

©2021 Jenna Kernan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

Critic Reviews

"Wow!! This book!!! Where do I begin? Completely and utterly impossible to put down. Literally had me on the edge of my seat. I devoured this book in just one sitting.... Gripping, engaging, and a superb read. A definite five stars." (Little Miss Book Lover 87)

"Blew my socks off! Had me hooked from the get go. I devoured it in one sitting. Had me hanging on for dear life. Blew my mind at the final twist! The perfect book." (@becsbookshelf_)

What listeners say about A Killer's Daughter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Story kept me engage

Story kept me engaged, but very frustrated with narrator who had trouble pronouncing words correctly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Twists. You can't Put it Down!

This is an amazing first book in what sounds like a new series. Kernan creates amazing characters, but the plot story has more twist than a tight spiral staircase!

This is an author to watch out for!!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

silly Harlequin romance, not a mystery

why do romance writers TRY to write mysteries, they never succeed. narrator is not literate, how did you never encounter the word "khaki" before?

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great storyline

While the storyline was twisting and turning and kept you guessing I hate to say the narrator was remiss in various pronunciations. Khaki is not pronounced "cocky" and fish filet knife " fill-aye" but perhaps she wasn't afforded opportunity to read in advance. No matter what the story line was so twisting and turning I was on edge, unable to predict the end result!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW...!

This was a first time listen for me with this author as well as the narrator. I can honestly say that I thought both were extremely GOOD! Definitely worth the purchase, and I will be eagerly looking for more of these two together! The story is well told- keeping the listener deeply engrossed throughout the story to a completely surprising end. The narrator is extremely good- I had no issues with getting distracted due to her character voices, word pronunciations, etc. Good job- these 2 together 'Rocked It"!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too Much Head Talk

I really wanted to like the book but the main character had too much convo inside her head. I like a mystery/thriller and I like a strong female lead. I get that authors want to take a "damaged" girl and have her grow into a strong woman but ugh. I really want a book with a strong female lead that isn't constantly having a conversation with herself about everything. I'd have liked the book more if the focus could have been on the mystery and less on the psycho head babble. Anyway moving on and not going to get the next one. I like the narrator - she did a good job.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn't Stop Listening

The plot of Jenna Kernan’s suspenseful, mystery-thriller is compelling and truly hard to put down. I managed to find lots of reasons to slip off to listen to the next chapter, then the next. I liked the protagonist, Nadine, who fought insecurity and suspicion of others due to her unstable upbringing but still strived to form relationships despite her inner demons. I also appreciated her ability to push on even when other “experts” didn’t support her theories. The serial-killer mother, Arleen, is especially well written as a manipulative, narcissistic psychopath. I enjoyed the ending and finally learning who the killer was and loved the descriptions of Florida. Jenna slips in a bit of humor occasionally that delights me. The narrator, Laurence Bouvard, did an excellent job. This one is worth your time and dime!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Isolde
  • Isolde
  • 02-20-21

Copycat killer but definitely not a copycat plot!

I found the plot really interesting. So many themes are overdone now but I can't think of any novel I've read from the viewpoint of a serial killer's daughter.
I liked all the potential threads and how you don't know which way the story is going to play out and whether anyone is truly trustworthy including the protagonist.
I'm intrigued to see that it's the first in a series... I'm already wondering where the next book will go.
My only criticism is that the narrator had a beautiful voice for the main narration and Dr Finch but the other characters were very comical. However, even though their voices amused me (because they were pretty bad), they didn't annoy me and I still loved the story and narration! 🤯

1 person found this helpful