• A Lady for a Duke

  • By: Alexis Hall
  • Narrated by: Kay Eluvian
  • Length: 15 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (133 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Lisa Kleypas!

When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognizes her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.

©2022 Alexis Hall (P)2022 Hachette Audio
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about A Lady for a Duke

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Angsty Slow Burn

I went into this thinking it would be a rom com, based on having read some other books by the same author. I think my reactions to this book were then largely effected by it turning out instead to be an angsty, slow burn that had me frustrated with all the characters for about 2/3 of the book - how can one possibly not recognize their best friend?! This is not to say there isn't any comedy in this, but prepare for hours of drama and angst. I did of course like the book a lot, especially the last 1/3 where the couple finally stops getting in their own way and had to foil a kidnapping.
I love that the narrator is a Trans woman, which brings more authenticity to Viola.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of top five romances I’ve ever read

I laughed.

I cried.

I swooned.

I ached.

I’ve never read a book that had me so much in its thrall a this one, and I recommend it to anyone and everyone who loves to read about people falling in love.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Modern sense and sensibilities

My favorite thing about this book is that it has just taken modern manners on how to treat a trans person, and plopped it down in Regency England. No long-winded justification for respect, just RESPECT. No outing, no microaggressions, no villainous transphobic rant, just...respect.

Also, the sex scenes are REALLY well-done. :P

This is wish-fulfilment, and why not? Why not have nice things? While the book begins with Viola stewing in her fears of rejection, should her old friend Justin, Duke of Gracewood, recognize her, once that recognition is made, the drama isn't that she transitioned, it's that she let him think she was dead. And then further drama as the two try to carve out a place for themselves which takes into account the expectations of a Duke (that is, continuing the family line) and also the expectations of a lady's maid (to not be disgraced by an affair).

And the biggest, most dangerous moment in the book? Has NOTHING to do with their romance. And yet their romance AND their childhood friendship play a part in bringing about the expected happy ending.

Audiobook bonus: Matched identity in the narrator! And I'd have accepted nothing else than a trans woman voicing a trans woman.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Book

This is one of my favorite books I’ve stumbled on. We need more like THIS. More books about us, written by people who GET us. I love that I showed the blurb to my wife and had to *explain* why it was important. I love that the narrator was clearly chosen with great thought. I love the humor and genuineness of this book. I love the characters and the hope I have for sequels. Do yourself a favor y’all, and read this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lovely LGBTQIA+ romance - ideal Pride Month treat

The concept and the characters were well executed throughout - my only (minor) complaint would be that the pacing was slightly inconsistent; once or twice I wished for a little less "pining" and more getting on with the plot.

The narrator did an excellent job differentiating between characters which helped draw me into their world quickly. I especially enjoyed the voicings of Viola and Lady Marley!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

the narration is brilliant

also this is a book that needed to exist and I'm glad now does exist

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Achingly sweet

The narration was perfect throughout. I loved her voices for the various characters and the emotion behind them. The writing was perfection. I was engaged every minute of the story. Also bless the ending, it left me grinning ear to ear.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SL
  • 06-06-22

So freaking beautiful

Alexis Hall's gorgeous writing is a perfect match for this homage to the gothic, sweeping romance. Viola and Gracewood have my heart. I've never read a romance between a man and a trans woman that is written just like any other romance. No stigma, no judgment, no salaciousness.... yes, plenty of angst and, you know, feelings. 🥹❤️ The cast of characters is wonderful as well. Excellent narration. #transisbeautiful

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just a lovely lovely book

Sweepingly romantic and swoony historical romance from one of the best writers out there. If you have only read his lighter books of the past few years -- Something Fabulous, Rosaline Palmer, Boyfriend Material -- the comparatively high angst level here might surprise you, but Alexis Hall can do anything. The prose was maybe a tiny bit repetitious at times. Maybe it was just a smidge preachy. (Although I suspect I only think that because I'm in the choir AJH is preaching to.) But those are quibbles. Alexis Hall's worst is better than almost anyone's best, and this was right up there at the top of his oeuvre. I loved Kay Eluvian's interpretation of the central couple, but her voices for supporting characters maybe lacked some depth and variety. But she hasn't had all that many books to herself before: she did a splendid job and I look forward to more of her work in the future.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I loved it! I'm not much for 19th century romances, but I have to say, I was so engrossed in this story that I listened to it straight through. Bravo to Alexis Hall for writing another masterpiece

1 person found this helpful