• A Lady for a Duke

  • By: Alexis Hall
  • Narrated by: Kay Eluvian
  • Length: 15 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the best-selling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore and Lisa Kleypas!

When Viola Carroll was presumed dead at Waterloo, she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.

©2022 Alexis Hall (P)2022 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about A Lady for a Duke

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Fabulous Story!!

I absolutely adored this book. Such appealing characters and just beautifully written. Alexis Hall never disappoints me, his writing is stunning.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book addict
  • Book addict
  • 06-28-22

Fantastic concept but tepid story

This story is based on a great and novel concept, but the delivery is seriously tepid. The story fizzles out and drags. The love declarations lacked authenticity. The drama towards the end should have been exciting but was instead a bit ridiculous and lacklustre. The book has left me feeling disappointed and bored. However, the narration was good. This story was a missed opportunity.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for HMM
  • HMM
  • 06-02-22

Am I lacking?

This is a well-written and heartfelt story, but I could not suspend my disbelieve. This is not a farce nor alternate universe.

My head kept nagging throughout the story that
1, two hundred years ago people needed explanation of trans and did not effortlessly do everything right by standards far in the future.
2, when you have known and loved a man from childhood on and meet him after 2 years of absence in female form, you think at least once how she resembles the lost friend.

Because of this I am not enjoying the story.
The narration is marvelous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Claire k
  • Mrs. Claire k
  • 05-28-22

Simply Magnificent

Wow! Just wow.
As a huge Alexis Hall fan I expected BIG things from this story. I wasn’t disappointed. An emotional roller coaster. Heart wrenching. Amusing. Entertaining.
Thought provoking. Highly recommend