adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An intrepid female reporter matches wits with a serious, sexy detective in an award-winning author's fun and flirty historical rom-com, perfect for fans of Evie Dunmore, Julia Quinn, and Tessa Dare!

England, 1865: Newspaper columnist Lady Katherine Bascomb finds herself the subject of speculation when her latest article leads to an arrest in the murders plaguing London. The English believe women ought not to write about such vulgar things as crime, and a particularly attractive detective inspector is incensed that she's interfered with his investigation. To escape her sudden notoriety, Katherine heads to the country - only to witness a murder upon her arrival. 

Detective Inspector Andrew Eversham is appalled when Lady Katherine entangles herself in one of his cases - again. Her sensationalist reporting already nearly got him kicked off the police force, and he'll be damned if he permits her to meddle a second time. Yet, her questions are awfully insightful, and he can't deny his attraction to both her beauty and brains. As the clues point to a dangerous criminal, the two soon realize their best option is working together. But with their focus on the killer lurking in the shadows, neither is prepared for the other risk the case poses - to their hearts.

©2020 Manda Collins (P)2020 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Manda Collins smoothly blends romance and an English country-house whodunit... The twists and turns of the plot will keep readers guessing, but Kate's independent attitude and the interesting friends she gathers around her bring the story to vivid life." (Bookpage)

"Sexy, thrilling, romantic... Manda Collins makes her Regency world a place any reader would want to dwell." (Kieran Kramer, USA Today best-selling author) 

"With wicked smart dialogue and incredibly strong characters, Manda Collins reminds me why I love historical romance so much. Witty, intelligent, and hard to put down, you'll love A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem." (Rachel Van Dyken, number-one New York Times best-selling author) 

What listeners say about A Lady's Guide to Mischief and Mayhem

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    293
  • 4 Stars
    152
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    368
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    257
  • 4 Stars
    133
  • 3 Stars
    66
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enthralling and witty

This book had me on the edge of my seat, I loved the headstrong heroine and the stubborn lead man. This story has just enough of a love story to warm ones heart, but the mystery is something that grabs ones attention and keeps you enthralled. The ending was not as predictable as a lot of mysteries that I have read. Therefore I would HIGHLY recommend this book!! I loved it and will more than likely favor this author from here on out.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just what I needed

I almost never write reviews but this book was a delight. It’s not easy to find a romantic mystery that is both well-written, has some steamy scenes AND is well narrated, but this one is and I’m excited for another installment (assuming there will be one). In the meantime I’m going to try some of the author’s more traditional books, cheesy covers and titles notwithstanding, in the hope that they also have the same combination of rare characteristics.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New favorite narrator

So well done, loved every single second. I will definitely be looking for more books from Manda Collins.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful

Besides being a fun, exciting story, the narrator really made it for me. Great voice acting skills.

Also, Andrew is my new book boyfriend. Yummy!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

what a delightful book

I came across this book in a search of Mary Jane Wells. loved it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enchanting mystery-romance

I love the merging of my two favorite genres. The author must be a MFM fan! (There were too many parallels to ignore the inspiration from Georgia and Karen and Elvis)! The story was enjoyable without being overly graphic in the crime or romance department. I hope there is a second story in the series where the story of Val an Caro will be explored. 😊

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well Done!

A fetching and engaging story with appealing characters and a marvelous reading by Mary Jane Wells.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it. Highly entertaining read.

Well balanced historical mystery and romance. Highly entertaining story with lots of good side characters. The romance between the hero and heroine was tender as well as steamy. I look forward to more mysteries from the author.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring,

I wanted to love this book. I love historical romance and I love historical mysteries. This book seemed like the best of both worlds, but it lacked in both the romance and mystery departments. Maybe if it was longer the author could have developed the love story or the mystery a bit more? It just felt like a light-hearted, rated PG, fluffy mystery.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

not a mystery

horribly crafted mystery that was a distant backstory. just a silly romance. why it was in the list of mysteries recommended to me is stupid. going to see if I can get my money back.

1 person found this helpful