1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.22

Buy for $34.22

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The highly anticipated second - and final - book in the immersive fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore that began with the New York Times best-selling A Song of Wraiths and Ruin, from author Roseanne A. Brown. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Renée Ahdieh, and Sabaa Tahir.

Karina lost everything after a violent coup left her without her kingdom or her throne. Now the most wanted person in Sonande, her only hope of reclaiming what is rightfully hers lies in a divine power hidden in the long-lost city of her ancestors.

Meanwhile, the resurrection of Karina’s sister has spiraled the world into chaos, with disaster after disaster threatening the hard-won peace Malik has found as Farid’s apprentice. When they discover that Karina herself is the key to restoring balance, Malik must use his magic to lure her back to their side. But how do you regain the trust of someone you once tried to kill?

As the fabric holding Sonande together begins to tear, Malik and Karina once again find themselves torn between their duties and their desires. And when the fate of everything hangs on a single, horrifying choice, they each must decide what they value most - a power that could transform the world or a love that could transform their lives.

©2021 Roseanne A. Brown (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Psalm of Storms and Silence

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

**CHEF'S KISS**

Chef's Kiss to the book series and the narrator's performance. AMAZING! I'm obsessed. PERFECT! 🥹👌

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ugh! My heart

I realllly REALLY love this story! Warning SPOILERS AHEAD!


The narrators are on POINT! I just wish they had agreed on the pronunciations smh! But other than that, they were ENTRANCING and fantastic! Whoever reads for Karina, go off!

The writing felt a little cheeky and rambley at some points…but it was cool because I felt like I was talking to the author. The story itself is absolutely beautiful! The way she broke the world and rebuilt it was…chef’s kiss.


I absolutely love the way she translated suicidal thoughts. Honestly, sometimes I feel like I’m going crazy and hearing that spiral and not hating Malik made me not hate myself for a minute. Feeling seen can really help.

My main question is about Hanan…I hope I spelled her name right. I feel like you don’t get a clear understanding of what Farid did to her? But at the same time, you do? Maybe I need to relisten. I think the fact that she ends up eating him is so cathartic and so gross. It’s beautiful.

I am SO MAD that she doesn’t just say that they get together in the END! Ugh! PAIN! Because now it’s forever unfinished in my head! Malik and Karina deserve complete and total love.

So good!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

I recommend this book series. It draws you in and keep you wanting to know what happens next. I hope there’s a book 3.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story!

Beautifully written, easy to follow, wonderful readers! It was such a great story that it left me wanting more and I’m willing to listen again!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Already looking forward to rereading

The first book was brilliant, and this book was even better.

I honestly have no critique to offer, everything is just <chef’s kiss>

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Painful but Excellent

I love how this story weaved together the present situation and the past, and all of the character journeys. It was painful and funny and heartbreaking and joyful. At times I didn't want to continue, but the ending was absolutely worth it.

The performances for the audiobook were overall excellent. But sometimes Malik's voice sounded rough like Farid's in scenes where I don't think it should have, so that threw off the scene for me. But otherwise, absolutely amazing job and I cannot recommend the audiobook enough for this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really hope there is a 3rd book! This was so amazing! Narrators did a great job!