• A Racing Murder

  • Ham Hill Murder Mysteries, Book 2
  • By: Frances Evesham
  • Narrated by: Charlotte Strevens
  • Length: 7 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (223 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.72

Buy for $20.72

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The next thrilling Ham-Hill Murder Mystery from best-selling cosy crime author Frances Evesham.

A winning horse. A fierce rivalry. A sudden death.

Belinda Sandford thrills to the cheers of the crowd as her beautiful grey racehorse, ‘Butterfly Charm’, thunders past the finishing post first at Wincanton Racecourse. She feels like the luckiest girl in the world. 

But joy soon turns to despair as a stewards’ enquiry overturns the result and awards the race to her long-time rival, Alexandra Deacon. 

When Alex is found dead in suspicious circumstances, a host of accusing eyes turn to Belinda and her distraught mother begs Adam Hennessy, her neighbour, retired police officer and publican, to help clear her daughter’s name. 

As Adam,and local hotelier Imogen Bishop dig deep into the murky and powerful undercurrents of the horse racing world, they lay bare the lives and loves of local jockeys, grooms, trainers and owners. 

They soon uncover a web of secrets hidden within the spectacular Somerset countryside as they strive to find the killer in time to prevent more murders. 

A brand new cosy mystery series from the best-selling author of A Village Murder, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Betty Rowlands and M.C. Beaton.

©2021 Frances Evesham (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd

What listeners say about A Racing Murder

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    160
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    162
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    139
  • 4 Stars
    49
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Horrible Asian accent

Reader used a racist American Chinese sing song accent. Super offensive. The character was actually Thai and I would expect her to have more of a British accent.
The book was good though.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cozy and Satisfying

I am enjoying this author! If you like cozy mysteries, you will enjoy Frances Evesham’s books. I can’t wait for the next Ham Hill mystery. Guess I’ll have to wait until 2022. I love all of the characters, but I’m especially in love with Harley. Who can resist his big brown eyes?! Smiles. Thank you, Frances, for writing cozy mysteries with a twist.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

I have enjoyed the story. The characters were just as likeable, with good plot at a good pace. I do agree with a previous reviewer regarding the narrator’s voice of an Asian character’s accent though - it just sounds too stereotype. However, the narrator did a good job in all others. I look forward to more books in this series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Strevens is pleasant - but I've one critique

The plot was as to be expected and in keeping with the cozy mystery tone and style of the first book in the Hamm Hill series. And I love this narrator. I didn't, however, appreciate the Asian accent that she added to the Asian English character, Ling. The author's use of an ethnically Asian character is applaudable, and it added to the diversity of the cast. But there was nothing in the text to indicate that she was someone with a heavy Asian-sounding accent. In fact, she was described as a sharp and accomplished barrister. The use of an Asian accent for Ling only plays into stereotypes that take away from the point of including a character like this -- someone who is competent, cosmopolitan, and able to speak English as well as the locals. This takes us back to the portrayal of the Asian neighbor in Breakfast at Tiffany's rather than forward to the portrayal of Cho in Harry Potter. Ms. Strevens, please keep up the good work. You are an excellent narrator and incredibly entertaining. But please think twice before adding a foreign accent.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love ❤️ it

a wonderful new series, I injoyed the first two , looking forward to next

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the book!

Enjoyed the story and characters immensely. The narrator really brought the story to life with her interpretation of each character. Recommend it highly.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nigel R Benson
  • Nigel R Benson
  • 08-22-21

Trite in the extreme and worse than predecessor

My review of the first in the series noted that it becomes very Enid Blyton, "'oh jolly dee, let's investigate that, whooppee doo, it's sooooo exciting"

In this we had a - no plot spoiler - female jockey who was a professional and a career girl, yet she seemed to do nothing other than whine like a 12-year-old and couldn't, as far as the threads of the story were concerned, metaphorically add one and one.

The standout nonsense was the co-key protagonist, Adam. We knew from the first book that he's from Birmingham and is fairly laid back and jolly, but incisively gently edgy, though quiet. This time he's nonsensically different. Louder, a little more in your face and zero hint of any Birmingham. It's like two entirely different characters.

On the grounds that the books were apparently recorded not very far apart and the narrator is the same, the difference is a farce.

There's a line between cosy and ludicrous. It's written and told as if it's aimed at someone of ten. Don't bother. It's a waste of your time.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carôle
  • Carôle
  • 10-01-21

Not Really Sure How To Review This…

This is an easy going Cozy Mystery, but despite its gentleness, there’s really no story, no deductive sleuthing and, quite frankly, no point to the whole concept of this series!

It seems strange to say this, but it’s an enjoyable book that doesn’t really live up to its labelling! (Even less so than book one).

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for crochetdiva
  • crochetdiva
  • 09-10-21

Very exviting

A brilliant glimpse into the cutthroat world of horse racing. There is action packed suspense in every chapter. A must listen during the colder months.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alison
  • Alison
  • 10-28-21

Boring. Nothing like the first in the series.

The first book in this new series was free, and it is very good, I think, so on that basis I used a credit for this second book.

Though equally well read - CS is an excellent narrator - this plot was much slower, and maybe because it is set around the world of race horses and training yards which is of little interest to me, I found it very boring. I didn't care about the characters and the previous dynamic between Imogen and Adam wasn't featured as he has fallen in love (while we were away) with someone else who also isn't relevant.

Dull, and laboured. Sadly, a waste of a credit too.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diane Walmsley
  • Diane Walmsley
  • 09-09-21

enjoyable

I felt the first book in the series was very naive however I have thoroughly enjoyed the second book full of twists and Turns with excellent main characters can't wait for the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bookworm
  • Bookworm
  • 08-11-21

Very enjoyable second in series.

This is the second book set in Somerset and is a brilliant listen. More used to gritty crime novels, I really enjoyed the fact that yes, there are murders (!) but it isn’t graphic, no one swears, no sex & with characters who have come even more to life since the first book. The narrator is also perfect and I hope the author writes more in this series with Charlotte Strevens again doing a fabulous performance!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennie Wood
  • Jennie Wood
  • 08-16-22

another gripping story

Another great book from Frances Evesham. from the Ham Hill series.

I have enjoyed seeing how the characters have evolved in their lives

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Celia 22
  • Celia 22
  • 07-28-22

Easy background noise sort of a story

Not a bad story - nice little twist at the end with Harley the hero of the hour.
Reasonable narration, glad she’s dropped the appallingly grating Birmingham accent for Adam - I’ve never heard anyone in Birmingham with an accent like that!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jay
  • Jay
  • 06-12-22

This was a very enjoyable story

I really appreciate a solid cozy mystery story and this one was a definite winner for me. I love the characters and their relationships it's fun and light hearted there's a sweet dog, what more do you need. I liked the back drop of the story being horse racing. I don't live to far from Lingfield Race Track so I found it quite interesting. Charlotte Strevens is a wonderful narrator I have said this before and I enjoy her voice and rhythm of speaking. Some narrators get it wrong and it can feel unnatural. I can't wait to hear the next book I binged this one in three days.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sinbad4england
  • sinbad4england
  • 02-12-22

gentle story....

Not the best writing or narration in the world but A Racing Murder is gentle and you don't need to follow it too seriously.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-09-21

a bit short

loved the first book and loved this but it was a shorter story that I felt could have been made a bit longer as it all happened in a rush towards the end

1 person found this helpful