• A Ritual for the Dying

  • Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, Book 6
  • By: Jack Gatland
  • Narrated by: Robin Laing
  • Length: 9 hrs and 54 mins

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Thrice cursed. Thrice bound. Thrice damned.

When the body of a famous television academic is discovered in Greenwich Park, carefully positioned beside a megalithic stone fountain and missing a hand, DI Declan Walsh and the team of the Last Chance Saloon find themselves not only involved in a case that connects to the supernatural, but one that also involves 17th-century architects, Ley Lines, nuclear reactors and a secret black market organisation that specialises in particular occult items, some that date all the way back to both Aleister Crowley and the Elizabethan Magician, Dr John Dee himself, and connected to a missing treasure.

But as the team hunt a killer, one that uses ritualistic locations and weapons to perform their murders, Declan will journey on a heretical treasure hunt through an underground pagan and spiritual subculture of witches, shamans, druids, magicians and heathens, a world of esoteric luncheons and virtual sabbats, and where curses are believed real and the dead indeed talk....

But is one of those dead voices that of his one-time love, Kendis Taylor? The sixth book in a series of procedural crime thrillers by number one New York Times best-selling writer Tony Lee writing as Jack Gatland, A Ritual For The Dying is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, Ian Rankin, Damian Boyd, Alex Smith, David Gatward and Ann Cleeves, among others.

©2022 Jack Gatland (P)2022 W F Howes

What listeners say about A Ritual for the Dying

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-23-22

To Long winded

Enjoyed previous books in this series. However this was far too convoluted for easy relaxed listening! Really sorry couldn’t finish it

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee Wallace
  • Lee Wallace
  • 06-22-22

Lots of characters

I have listened to this while in isolation with Covid so maybe I can blame it, because although I enjoyed the story I found the number of characters a little confusing especially when some of them had 2 names/identities. I continue to like the paranormal/pagan theme to the story lines.

.