• A Rumor of Kings

  • Kingdom of Ghosts, Book 1
  • By: Victor Gischler
  • Narrated by: John Lee
  • Length: 13 hrs and 31 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.99

Buy for $20.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

He's a gambler, womanizer, opportunist, and inebriate . . . and the kingdom's only chance. 

Greymond, the Scattered Kingdom, has been without a king for hundreds of years, a place ruled by squabbling barons and dukes. Occasionally, rumors arise: a king of the old blood has returned to claim his throne. These days, such claims are met with groans and eye-rolls. Pretenders abound . . . and are generally ignored.

But scheming powers are plotting, machinations that have been in the works for years, and this time . . .

Enter Merrik Niles.

A thief hired by dangerous people to steal a map, he instead keeps it for himself, hoping to follow it to some mysterious prize.

The treasure turns out to be an ancient artifact connected to Greymond's last king, and when Merrik touches it, he triggers long-dormant magic. Now, three ghosts have taken up permanent residence inside his mind: A cunning, smart-mouthed jester. A master swordsman. And a powerful wizard.

At first, Merrik believes he's going mad, but at times, these troublesome ghosts lend him their powers . . . for good or for bad.

Merrik is swept along in a scheme to put a fair-haired pretender on the throne of Greymond, making him the target of powerful enemies across the Scattered Kingdom who prefer the realm as it is.

All the while, a new army rises across the mountains . . . and they're coming.

Follow Merrik's exploits as a reluctant hero in the next epic fantasy series by Victor Gischler, the bestselling author of Ink Mage. It's perfect for fans of Mark Lawrence, Brent Weeks, and Jay Kristoff.

©2021 Victor Gischler (P)2022 Tantor

What listeners say about A Rumor of Kings

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for me

I couldn't make it past half way through this. The characters just all felt so cowardly and lacking in agency, aimlessly flitting through set piece to set piece as if by the strings of fate - no ambition other than survival on their mind.

It made for a frightfully dull read. It's also not what I'm looking for in a fantasy tale.

I maybe could have been persuaded to hang around a bit longer, but the main protagonist is just such an annoying coward with nothing about him.

There's just nothing here that grabbed me.

I'll be returning this.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Looking forward to the next one

In short.
A great story, made better with good writing.
As for the performance I can only say this.
I have never had a bad thing to say about John Lee.
Though after this I may have some more good things to say about him.
Looking forward to the next one.