• A Springtime to Remember

  • By: Lucy Coleman
  • Narrated by: Lucy Scott
  • Length: 8 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (515 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Paris and the Palace of Versailles have always meant a lot to TV producer Lexie. Her grandma Viv spent a year there, but her adventures and memories were never discussed, and Lexie has long wondered why they were a family secret. 

When work presents the perfect excuse to spend springtime in Versailles, Lexie delves into Viv’s old diaries and scrapbooks, and with the help of handsome interpreter Ronan, she is soon learning more about the characters that tend to the magnificent gardens, now and in the past. 

In amongst the beauty and splendour of the French countryside, a story of lost love, rivalry and tragedy unfolds. Can Lexie and Ronan right the wrongs of the past, and will France play its tricks on them both before Lexie has to go home? Will this truly be a springtime to remember? 

Let Lucy Coleman sweep you away with this perfect feel-good love story. Perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Sue Moorcroft and Heidi Swain. 

©2019 Lucy Coleman (P)2019 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about A Springtime to Remember

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    302
  • 4 Stars
    124
  • 3 Stars
    63
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    98
  • 3 Stars
    38
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    280
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

SWEARING 🤬

I'm not sure why a writer feels the need to throw cuss words into a story but the use of GD is absolutely unacceptable to me. I'm only a couple chapters in, but I won't be finishing this story or ANY of this authors books. What a shame.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating! Great attention to detail.

The beauty of Versailles intricately described as are the characters lives, you become emotionally invested.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A many-layered story at Versailles.

I’ve been to Paris, but not Versailles. I’m hoping for trip there in what’s left of my life. I’ve read several books about various gardeners at Versailles, so the summary of this book caught my attention. It was so worth the listen!

The story practically reads like a memoir, and the narrator’s voice is mesmerizing! It’s not a fast-paced adventure story, though a mystery slowly unfolds. It is a story to be slowly drunk in to be savored and appreciated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy and unassuming

I listened to this tale because it was included in the free premium library. The start of it was such a tale of time in France that I thought I’d become bored. But thought the description of the time spent in France often made me bored, the love story and narration of in-depth character kept my interest. The story wound a magical, historical tale, that made me keep listening as time went by. I ended up listening without pause and was so grateful for the experience. Surprisingly, I’m still entranced, after the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A springtime to remember

A lovely story of romance, history and a family's adventure. the best thing that comes with secrets revealed many years later...is love.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Inspiration

A cute little storyline of inspiration, hope and to forgiveness. I would read it again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

no go

knew I was not liking this book from the first chapter. not my cup of tea!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me…

I couldn’t get past the first few chapters. Not enough people connection to keep me interested.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A waste of time

to bad I couldn't give this book minus 5!!! The story was ok BUT the narration was absolutely horrible!! I struggled to listen until I just couldn't take anymore!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Tried hard to like this book but the main character is unbelievably stupid

I was nearly at the end of chapter 17 when I called it quits! This has to be the most naive (or stupid) woman in history! She isn’t honest with her own brother or her boyfriend or herself. So very disappointed I could not bear another moment. My blood pressure was going through the roof! Don’t bother!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 09-03-21

Thoroughly good ‘read’

I found this book a good story, enjoyed the narration and the little twists and turns.
Easy listening.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lulubelle
  • lulubelle
  • 06-02-22

So dreadful I returned it

I can't comment on the story, because I returned this an hour in! It may have been the narration, but the snipy, supercilious interactions with one of the sisters drove me mad. As far as she was concerned- lifestyle choice: hers= great, anyone else's= rubbish.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Naomi Carlton-Poole
  • Naomi Carlton-Poole
  • 05-29-22

An ok story and an easy listen

This book felt like it didn't have enough build up to start you into the story so it took me a while to get into the characters. As other reviews, the best part of the book was the history and vision of versailles but the story felt like it lacked substance or depth. But overall, still a good book if your looking for something light hearted and easy to listen to

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jenhen
  • Jenhen
  • 05-10-22

Promised more than it delivered

I’m sorry but this was dull, with unrealistic and irritating characters. They kind of deserve each other, even though I could not finish it so I don’t know who ends up with who

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-03-21

Great story about Versailles

I love France and Versailles it was so interesting to learn about these wonderful gardens.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kindle
  • kindle
  • 09-22-22

Took a long time to get into

Lots of information about Versailles, found the story a little slow, and kept nodding off! Went back over a couple of chapters at the end as I still didn’t understand what the big secret was - still none the wiser. However really good narrator. A nice story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Аmazon Customer
  • Аmazon Customer
  • 09-03-22

amazing love storie

I looked this book. family working problems out together. Young and elderly will love this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MISS L
  • MISS L
  • 09-03-22

Lovely Story.

Lovely for summer listening. The story was full of twists and turns. I enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susanP1011
  • susanP1011
  • 08-19-22

Could not finish, found it boring

Could not keep me interested, my mind kept wondering and had to restart the chapters over and over. Finally gave up.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. Jenny Briton
  • Ms. Jenny Briton
  • 08-17-22

Bleugh

Started out good! Narrator is excellent. Through the story though the main character and her love interest became such awful saps! Had to stop reading partway through which I hardly ever do but was unbearable

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dirk
  • Dirk
  • 07-19-22

Great story

Loved this book. The story made me feel I was in France. I now want to travel to France and visit the palace of Versailles 😀

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alan
  • Alan
  • 06-29-22

lightweight

What starts as an interesting journey of discovery becomes a very lightweight story. The story meanders along fairly slowly following relatively typical love story lines. However, it explodes into a totally incomprehensible falling out between the main characters that just doesn't fit in with the preceding story. The whole story ends in a very predictable and uninspiring way. Easy enough read, but don't expect too much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-03-22

csptivated

I was transported and lost in this story from beginning to end. Did not want to put this one down.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bridget Byrne
  • Bridget Byrne
  • 10-20-21

Neither here nor there

This book really dragged. I never found myself caught up and lost in the words. Just a good book to help me get to sleep… sorry Lucy!

.