• A Third Class Murder

  • A Cozy 1930s Mystery Set in an English Village
  • By: Hugh Morrison
  • Narrated by: Charles Johnston
  • Length: 5 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (78 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

England, 1930. An antiques dealer is found robbed and murdered in a third class train compartment on a remote Suffolk branch line. The police believe they know who the killer is, and an arrest is soon made. A passenger on the same train, the Reverend Lucian Shaw, country parson and former army chaplain, is concerned that the police have the wrong man and begins an investigation of his own. Before long, Shaw is drawn into a web of intrigue, deceit, and murder which lurks beneath the surface of a seemingly peaceful country parish.

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and G.K. Chesterton's Father Brown will love this cozy mystery set in an English village.

©2021 Hugh Morrison (P)2021 Hugh Morrison

What listeners say about A Third Class Murder

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable

I loved everything about this book. The characters were interesting, and relatable. The mystery was one that kept me guessing, with a satisfying conclusion. The setting was historic and charming to envision, very bucolic feeling. What better place to have a shocking murder? The narration was superb. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this audiobook. I recommend it highly.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I love English murders!

We do crazy things when our life seems out of our control.

Charles Johnston did a great job narrating.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

disappointing

The setup was fine. The plot is rather thin and the characters overblown. The red herrings were so so. The finale is rushed and hackneyed. it's an okay read if you don't have to pay for it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute Cozy!

This is a great...and yes, cute... cozy mystery with an English and 1930s flair. Fun listen/read, and can't wait to read more by this author.