• A Third Class Murder

  • A Cozy 1930s Mystery Set in an English Village
  • By: Hugh Morrison
  • Narrated by: Charles Johnston
  • Length: 5 hrs and 46 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (63 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

England, 1930. An antiques dealer is found robbed and murdered in a third class train compartment on a remote Suffolk branch line. The police believe they know who the killer is, and an arrest is soon made. A passenger on the same train, the Reverend Lucian Shaw, country parson and former army chaplain, is concerned that the police have the wrong man and begins an investigation of his own. Before long, Shaw is drawn into a web of intrigue, deceit, and murder which lurks beneath the surface of a seemingly peaceful country parish.

Fans of Agatha Christie, Dorothy L. Sayers, and G.K. Chesterton's Father Brown will love this cozy mystery set in an English village.

©2021 Hugh Morrison (P)2021 Hugh Morrison

What listeners say about A Third Class Murder

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I love English murders!

We do crazy things when our life seems out of our control.

Charles Johnston did a great job narrating.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

so so

A very traditional cozy English mystery. But not cozy in the sense that there's any humor. Personally I don't much care for the fact that the vicar is smarter than the inspector.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-15-22

An easy listening yarn

A really good story. Easy to listen too. I hope to find more books from the author

3 people found this helpful