1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.52

Buy for $20.52

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times best seller!

“Don’t miss this dazzling tour de force.” (Katherine Applegate, Newbery Medal-winning author of The One and Only Ivan)

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. This irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter.

Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable 1,000 miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home. 

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites listeners to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate’s Endling

Includes information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

Plus don't miss Rosanne Parry's stand-alone companion novel, A Whale of the Wild

©2019 Rosanne Parry (P)2019 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about A Wolf Called Wander

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    132
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Grateful, but disappointed.

I really wanted to love this book. The idea of it connected with me on many levels, but it left me feeling frustrated. There seemed to be no resolve, no resounding note or theme other than the pining of a youthful character to become someone great. I like this theme, but the character never evolved. Through trial and tribulation he seemed as if his real destiny was to continue to whine about not being a great and mighty leader of his own pack. The story was very unpredictable, which was nice. However, the surprise is that each new chapter brought about the exact same story as the previous - just that the shape and color of it were different. “I miss my pack and i wish i had one of my own.” But perhaps that IS the story here. I just grew impatient with the whining.

I’m grateful to the author for the story and the effort, for the poetry and unique rhythm of the sentences. But as an eager audience member I needed the characters to evolve in a more significant way.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

The target audience is age eleven but I'm 7 times 11 and couldn't put it down. This story is based on the life of Wolf
#OR 7, born in the mountains of eastern Oregon. We follow him on his migration across the state to the Siskiyou Mountains of northern California. The author imagines the thoughts in his head based on observations of his original pack and his journey. Wolves have evolved to fit an ecological niche.This book helps us see what an important part they play in their environment.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AMAZING

I love this book I have red it ones and listened to it twice you must listen to it you will love it and the guy that reads voice goes so good with the book amazing😍😍😍😍

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Journey for Belonging

I was initially unsure whether this would be a good pick, based on a review I read. I'm happy to say my opinion of the book is positive. By the end of the story, I felt very invested in the wolf's happiness. The poor wolf was alone a lot, but I didn't find him whiny; rather, he experienced natural yearnings for companionship (a theme more present than the complained of desire to be a pack leader). The end note from the author also struck a chord with me. We can all relate in some aspects to being a stranger in a new place and wanting our own "pack."
The book, to me, feels like it'd be best for middle grade readers who love animals, based on the overall simplicity of description.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely love this book

Love story love the narrator the whole book was just beautiful give it five stars highly recommend to listen to this book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

struggle to listen to, gave up

Gave up, hated the narrator voice couldn't listen to the rest of the book. Ironically, loved the narrator when he read Henry Huggins.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

This book is an amazing experience, the whole time you feel connected to wander! I would definitely suggest listening or reading this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent! A Must-Read For Nature Lovers.

This tale is told by Wander, beginning from the time he's a newborn in the den, competing with sibling pups for mother's milk. As he grows larger and stronger, the pack encounters obstacles.

Based on studies of an actual tracked wolf, this is an account of his travels and the challenges he faces along the way. Wildlife lovers, especially those with an affinity for wolves, will find it mesmerizing.

I strongly recommend you listen to all the extra information about the real wolf, OR-7, and the author's notes in their entirety. Fascinating facts and interesting observations are contained there.

One final note: Narrator Kirby Heyborne is amazing! One of the best I've heard, and that's saying a lot. Kudos to a great talent on a superb performance!

Please treat yourself to A WOLF CALLED WANDER by Rosanne Parry - you can thank me later.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a great read!

My boy and I loved this book very much! A great story and a great adventure wrought with so many emotions!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ok

I Think 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 s o o o o o o o o o o o o for your love