1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $6.95

Buy for $6.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

After Alison Liv Isner is sucked into an old globe that sat on her father’s desk, she wakes beside a campfire in a lush jungle, surrounded by five talking animals. She quickly realizes these are the same friends her mom wrote about in her expedition journal. Now, at the age of 11, she has the opportunity to complete her deceased mother’s unfinished expedition in the Temple of the Monkey God.

With her new found friends - a monkey, a fat rat, a bat, and a burro with a piranha in a mason jar tied around his neck - Ali decides to face the treacherous booby traps inside the temple and save the monkey idol from an evil group called "The Geese".

As she learns more about her deceased mom through her adventure journal, Ali and her friends realize the book is the key to lead them through the tunnels of the dreaded Temple of the Monkey God. If not, their lives are at stake, and Ali will be trapped in the expedition realm forever.

©2019 Tyler H. Jolley (P)2019 Tyler H. Jolley

What listeners say about Adventurous Ali

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A cute story

A fun story that’s all about friendship. What I like most is the connection Ali is making with her deceased mother as the story progresses. I hope the authors give me more information on the time period. I’d like to see how things are in Ali’s time. Overall a well done book and great start to a new series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

perfect for fans of Dora the Explorer

The first audiobook in the Adventurous Ali books is the Temple of the Monkey Gods. Here we meet eleven-year-old Alison Liv Isner. She is finally old enough to read her mother’s journals and while reading in her father’s office she is pulled into an old globe. She awakens to find herself in the jungle surrounded by five talking animals. They are sitting by a campfire and preparing for bed.

The five animals are a monkey, a rat, a bat, and a burro with a piranha in a mason jar tied around his neck. I loved it. Ali soon realizes these are the friends her mother mentions in her journals. She and the animals soon realize she is there to help them finish her deceased mother’s expedition in the Temple of the Monkey God.

Her companions are a hoot from the lipstick to the obsession with shiny things!

The story shares challenges, character growth, and friendship in all forms. It was suspenseful, funny, heartwarming and just the adventure to pull a young reader into the story. I loved the concept, delivery and most of the characters.

Stefanie Anne was the perfect narrator for Ali. Her tone and pitch made me believe she was eleven. She added unique voices for each of the friends and helped build the suspense and allow the reader to connect with them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect to listen to in the car!

Great story for kids! My 11 year old daughter enjoyed listening to it while on a road trip! It made the town go fast for her.

Stefanie Anne did a great job narrating!