• Against All Gods

  • The Age of Bronze, Book 1
  • By: Miles Cameron
  • Narrated by: Peter Noble
  • Length: 17 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (88 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Against All Gods  By  cover art

Against All Gods

By: Miles Cameron
Narrated by: Peter Noble
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.00

Buy for $24.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The tyranny of the gods is absolute, and they are capricious, malevolent and almost all-powerful, playing cruel games with the fates of mortals for their own ends....

A vibrant and powerful epic set against an alternate Bronze Age, this tale of gods, men and monsters, conspiracy and war, is a rich, compelling and original tale from a master of the historical and fantasy genres. The people caught up in toils of the gods are merely trying to survive. Victims of vicious whims, trapped by their circumstances or pushed beyond what the mortal frame can bear, a handful of god-touched mortals—a scribe, a warlord, a dancer and a child - are about to be brought together in a conspiracy of their own.

A conspiracy to reach the heavens and take down the corrupt and ageing gods...who are already facing troubles of their own....

An epic that draws on the Greek mythology of gods and heroes, this new trilogy is a must-hear for fans of Dan Simmons and Madeline Miller alike. 

©2022 Miles Cameron (P)2022 Gollancz

Critic Reviews

"Utterly, utterly brilliant. A masterclass in how to write modern fantasy—world-building, characters, plot and pacing, all perfectly blended. Miles Cameron is at the top of his game." (John Gwynne, author of the Faithful and the Fallen series)

What listeners say about Against All Gods

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    65
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great idea for a story, well executed

Fun book from Cameron, can't wait for next installment. He leaves the ancient historical fiction world for something more magical, but it has the same edginess one finds in his Killer of Men series. It takes a little time to get the ball rolling which is not a knock on the book, just a note to folks to be patient. We have to meet the disparate players and follow then as fate and scheming bring them together to get the real story gets going.

Cameron can be a fast writer so I am hoping he pumps the next one soon!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun

Fun story. Cool lil pviot from fantasy to maybe scifi? I have no idea what's going on

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow to start but absolutely hooked shortly after

I didn’t know what to expect with this one and it started off a little slow as it introduced so many characters with names and roles that only truly take shape over the course of the book. But give it a chance to get going and for all the separate storylines to merge and it’s the start of an amazing series that I can’t wait to continue.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Peter Noble is the best!!

As always, Mr. Cameron creates the best characters and intertwines their stories beautifully! I have read all his series and am so sad I am starting the last one. Please keep writing Miles/Christian Cameron!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Eh

Eh, pretty tired of Cameron's garish feminism and obsession with prostitutes
Otherwise a great writer

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Poor start

The narration is incredibly slow. Setting playback speed to 1.10x helped a lot. The gods are introduced in total at the beginning, as if listeners would actually remember who the gods were. The story initially unfolded in long chapters without pause, which apparently made the narrator occasionally run out of breath. The flaws eventually go unnoticed as the band of rebels take to the sea. I think that with some more humor, this story would have made a good satire.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent read

I enjoyed this book from start to finish. to me it seems like he nailed the balance between his modern writing styles and the old mythical Homeric Epics.
I think this will also catch the ear/eye of those who are into some of the old school RPGs like runequest/Glorantha or the Empire of the Petal throne/Tekumel setting.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible

To many characters intruduced at the same time and non of the particulaly memorable, returned.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

10/10

That was such an awesome book, the narrator was great. There is so much I want to say about the book but don’t see how I couldn’t spoil it. I can say it was absolutely bat shit crazy in a great way. I love how original the pantheon is, and the battle scenes are probably the best I have ever read. 10/10

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fantasy Fan
  • Fantasy Fan
  • 06-30-22

It’s a bit clunky

My overall impression after finishing is its a bit “he did this, then this”, so if the author was going for a myth format then he got it right. I just didn’t find the style engaging. The main characters were very one dimensional for me, some of the supporting cast and their machinations were a bit better, so the queen of the gods is jealous because her husband is having affairs. But he’s just angry and shouts for no real reason, and other characters are nasty, just because. I really wanted to like it but overall there was no real depth.
The narrator was good, unfortunately the writing meant it was almost as if he was declaring everything which was a bit jarring.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scott
  • Scott
  • 07-09-22

A fantastic first step into a brand new world!

Fantastically written, and amazingly preformed.
Miles Cameron has created an entire new world, mythos and Pantheon. If the quality of this series remains this high in the next few books, well this will be something truly special.