1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

To live among wolves, first you must become one... An unmissable new spy thriller from best-selling master of the genre, Alex Gerlis.

War is coming to Europe. British spymaster Barnaby Allen begins recruiting a network of agents in Germany. With diplomatic relations quickly unraveling, this pack of spies soon comes into their own: the horse-loving German at home in Berlin's underground; the young American sports journalist; the mysterious Luftwaffe officer; the Japanese diplomat and the most unlikely one of all... the SS officer's wife.

Despite constant danger and the ever-present threats of discovery and betrayal, Allen's network unearths top-secret plans for a new German fighter plane – and a truly devastating intelligence prize... an audacious Japanese plan to attack the United States. But can they prove it?

The race is on. An unputdownable and atmospheric Second World War espionage thriller, Agent in Berlin will grip you to the very end. Perfect for readers of David Young, Robert Harris and Rory Clements.

©2021 Alex Gerlis (P)2021 Alex Gerlis

What listeners say about Agent in Berlin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I Love WWII Spy Novels…But

I wanted to love this book…but it left me wanting. I am not sure why the book was written. The characters are not developed extensively and the suspense falls short. It is though the author couldn’t bring out the suspense of the battle between the Gestapo and the spy’s. One word might be “bland”. I couldn’t get behind it or the characters. What did not help was the limited range of the narrator. Perhaps different narration might have pumped the storyline up more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Solid book. Distracting narration.

I did the audio version of this book as narrated by Duncan Galloway.

This book was a World War 2 spy novel, one of my favorite genres. In terms of the story itself, Alex Gerlis has written an engaging fast-paced story, which I enjoyed. I wasn’t familiar with him before so this was a welcome surprise. I enjoyed the variety of characters and the depth of the storyline that carried out over several years. There were some parts that I thought were slightly too modern in their perspective and didn’t ring true of the time period but overall, the book was well plotted.

I’ve only recently started listening to audio books, and I found Galloway’s interpretation really over the top at times. He does a lot of distinct voices for the many characters which was very useful, as there are a lot of characters. Very distractingly though some of the voices he gave characters were so unrealistic and frankly annoying to listen to, especially for the first third of the book. It was a challenge to get beyond this, but because I enjoyed the story I wanted to keep going. I’ve read several rave reviews of the narration of this book. I have no idea what those readers were hearing, but I cannot imagine it was this book.

My advice if you want to consider this book is to read it instead.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This story is like a Toyota Avalon… Sneaky exciting well constructed Excellent etc.

Nothing groundbreaking here. Just an excellent storyteller. Good story. Good narrator. Actually great narrator. Does the little things And doesn’t forget the little things that are pertinent to each character even if it’s an hour later. Really good. Just solid across-the-board. Kind of takes you away from the 20 20–20 22 experience (y’all know what I mean). Kind of bad when World War II is better. Great story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommend

Looking forward to book 2. Narrator was great. This was my first book by Alex Gerlis

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roy
  • Roy
  • 07-08-22

Please get this recorded with someone else!

Alex Gerlis is a great author and the story is one that is very hard to leave. However, the narration is appalling. Firstly, when he is speaking as a character the voices he uses are terrible - I think of a mouse or a rat speaking. Also, an Englishman will pronounce Lieutenant as "Lefftenant" - not "Lootenant".

The narrator used for the Richard Prince series did a much better job!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Peter Howlett
  • Peter Howlett
  • 02-10-22

Laboured and meandering.

The narration was very poor. The German accents cringeworthy and off putting. The posh British accent was even worse. For comparison listen to Jeff Harding in the Philip Kerr Bernie Gunther series which is top rate narration and story telling. As a result the story suffered. However, the story was weak. There is nothing new here. No plot no twist nothing new in the WWII genre. No edge of your seat page turning must listen theme. The over emphasis on homosexuality didn’t ring true. No villain and weak characters that I found hard to invest in. Apart from Noel and Sophia who stood out but would be average characters in a better written book. They were worthy of development that didn’t happen. Very disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-16-22

Great audiobook!

This is the first of the “Woolpack” series and it’s a great story. The German accents used by the narrator are sometimes a little overdone and therefore amusing, but they don’t detract from a very well constructed and absorbing narrative. I really enjoyed it.

.