1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
All That’s Left in the World  By  cover art

All That’s Left in the World

By: Erik J. Brown
Narrated by: Barrett Leddy,Andrew Gibson
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What If It's Us meets Life as We Knew It in this post-apocalyptic, queer YA adventure romance from debut author Erik J. Brown. Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Alex London.

When Andrew stumbles upon Jamie’s house, he’s injured, starved, and has nothing left to lose. A deadly pathogen has killed off most of the world’s population, including everyone both boys have ever loved. And if this new world has taught them anything, it’s to be scared of what other desperate people will do...so why does it seem so easy for them to trust each other?

After danger breaches their shelter, they flee south in search of civilization. But something isn’t adding up about Andrew’s story, and it could cost them everything. And Jamie has a secret, too. He’s starting to feel something more than friendship for Andrew, adding another layer of fear and confusion to an already tumultuous journey.

The road ahead of them is long, and to survive, they’ll have to shed their secrets, face the consequences of their actions, and find the courage to fight for the future they desire, together. Only one thing feels certain: All that’s left in their world is the undeniable pull they have toward each other.

©2022 Erik J. Brown (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about All That’s Left in the World

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    488
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    477
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    431
  • 4 Stars
    79
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story!💜

Eric J Brown is a new author to me and while YA isn’t my usual genre, I really enjoyed this book. It focuses on so many real life issues and situations and how different people deal with them.
This book has a little of everything. Drama, suspense, love and humor. It was actually very funny in places and I found myself smiling more than it would seem possible in a post-apocalyptic story.
There was just something about these characters that I fell in love with. I’m not used to reading/listening to an MM story with no sex but it absolutely wasn’t needed nor did it fit in to the overall storyline. Their relationship was built up perfectly and at the right pace for the circumstances they were in.
Barrett Leddy is a new narrator to me but I loved him. He did a fantastic job with these characters and all the emotions. I’m already a huge fan of Andrew Gibson who also performed brilliantly.
IMO both these narrators worked perfectly together with all the characters and brought this story to another level.
This is a standalone book with an HEA.
I’m putting this book in my “Best Of 2022” list.
I highly recommend this book.

Sisters Spotlight 💜

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I didn’t like it

I’m sorry it just didn’t hit like the male voice reading the female character was so cringy and the lack of anything happening for so long made it boring

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This made me very happy

Very sweet story, well written, gives warm fuzzies.
While the plot follows a simple pattern of obstacle and resolution repeatedly the ways each encounter affects the characters is what drives the story and makes it stand out. I loved the way these characters changed and grew individually as well as in their relationships with each other.
I am always a sucker for a good post apocalyptic love story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely phenomenal

Hands down the best post-apocalyptic novel I’ve read in a very long time. The queer characters feel real, and feel like they are fully fleshed out outside of their queer identity as well, which can be hard to come by in queer media. Additionally, COVID is tactfully integrated in a way that only enhances the story being told. I couldn’t have higher praise for this book

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fanatic Love Kills (literally)

Is it a pandemic book? No. It's a post-COVID post-apocalyptic pandemic book. That description is confusing but accdg to Brown's author's note, that's what they're going with. Not sure if it's Gibson or Leddy who voiced Jamie, but, uh... you didn't do a good job. There. I said it. The VA for Andrew practically saved this audiobook cuz they got the assignment. I understand Jamie had something like depression--but the VA didn't do well in going beyond that. Story-wise? Cliché. It's America. Ofc it's full of killing and guns and roadtrips (or walktrips). Plot sequence? Could've done better. Will I read any follow up to this? No.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good stuff

Good book........a bit slow paced in getting to the denouement, but I enjoyed it. Ending could have been developed a bit more fully.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Solid Story Telling

Speaking as a reader who has gotten very burned out on the usual post-apocalyptic tropes of super grim hardboiled characters, this was amazingly refreshing. The heroes of the story are characters I actually like and who care about other people, and thus I care about them. There is a combination of altruism and vulnerability on display that makes me invested in what happens to the protagonists.

The focus on queer protagonists was a welcome change from the norm, especially when they can exist for their own sake and not just serve as side props to be buried. Having had to suffer through untold streight romances that dominate almost all mainstream fiction, it's nice to get a break and see that yes, queer relationships can exist in the apocalypse too.

In short, likeable characters, solid story, a very satisfying read with a journey that feels worth going on. Highly recommended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Story

This book was amazing and I was enthralled the moment I started listening. Very well done!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm so glad I bought this book.

I was submerged in this book's world. This book made me smile so much. The character's bond they build just feels very genuine.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not for the feint of heart

This is the first book I’ve gotten on audible for a Gay YA book. I should of prepared myself before listening to this while I slept. This is really well written and in the beginning I didn’t like how the perspectives kept shifting, but I ended up enjoying it and feeling more connected. This apocalypse really got my in my feelings and I couldn’t wait to hear more. I started this last night and ended up finishing it the next day. The voice actors are also great, a must read.