1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A sweeping saga in the vein of Ask Again, Yes following a foster family through almost a decade of dazzling triumph and wrenching heartbreak - from the author of The Orphans at Race Point.

Set in the late 1950s through 1960s in a small town in Massachusetts, All the Children Are Home follows the Moscatelli family - Dahlia and Louie, foster parents, and their long-term foster children Jimmy, Zaidie, and Jon - and the irrevocable changes in their lives when a six-year-old indigenous girl, Agnes, comes to live with them.

When Dahlia decided to become a foster mother, she had a few caveats: no howling newborns, no delinquents, and above all, no girls. A harrowing incident years before left her a virtual prisoner in her own home, forever wary of the heartbreak and limitation of a girl’s life.

Eleven years after they began fostering, Dahlia and Louie consider their family complete, but when the social worker begs them to take a young girl who has been horrifically abused and neglected, they can’t say no.

Six-year-old Agnes Juniper arrives with no knowledge of her Native American heritage or herself beyond a box of trinkets given to her by her mother and dreamlike memories of her sister. As the years pass and outside forces threaten to tear them apart, the children, now young adults, must find the courage and resilience to save themselves and each other. Heartfelt and enthralling, All the Children Are Home is a moving testament to the enduring power of love in the face of devastating loss.

©2021 Patry Francis (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about All the Children Are Home

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very much enjoyed

Great narration. I loved the different voices and perspectives. I was captured by the story. I wish some of the loose ends would have been tied. A lot of unfinished story lines.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great Potential, but the Ending Fell Flat

The story had so many great plot lines that were all leading to great endings, but it left them all hanging.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Frustrating

This book came up as a recommendation due to other books I've listened to. I finished the book, but reluctantly. It was hard to get through. The story line was hard to follow and almost annoying at times. If it can go wrong, it did.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This was a crazy household but full of love

The readers had lovely voices to listen to. I thoroughly enjoyed all of the characters in this book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A 3.5 Rating

Not as good as I had hoped… kept thinking the story would pick up. Sadly, that never happened.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KH
  • 02-18-22

I didn't want it to end!

It has been a long time since I've read a book that I didn't want to end. All the Children Are Home was such a great book, from the very first page to the last. The characters and their relationships were well developed and each one got equal time. There were happy parts and sad parts, but the love of these foster parents, even given their own issues and trauma, was steadfast. There is always room for one more in this life.