adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A conspiracy so big, it takes a microscope to see it.

Beer, redheads, and politics...Jackson Quick should have known better. First, he trusted a Texas politician. Then he fell for a leggy woman. Worst of all, he drank a beer that tasted funny. 

Now, he's running for his life and trying to save the world. When Quick is kidnapped and interrogated about the encrypted tech he's been charged by his powerful boss to deliver, he has no idea it's connected to a missing research scientist on the verge of an earth-shaking breakthrough. Nor is he aware of its proximity to the attempted assassination of a political candidate. 

Now he has to piece all of it together and stop the unthinkable from becoming a reality. 

Allegiance is book one of the trilogy of Jackson Quick Sci-Fi Adventures and introduces the unwitting hero with a secret past and a penchant for uncovering the truth. It's perfect for fans of Michael Crichton, Pierce Brown, and John Scalzi.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Allegiance

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    79
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book hits the ground running!!!!


And the pace never lets up. The protagonist (Jackson Quick) is an aide to the governor of Texas. Quick is kidnapped from a bar, where he’s drugged and questioned for five days. He has no clue about the what or why. He’s told on his release by the kidnappers that they’re watching him. Not knowing how close he contacts his best friend to help him get out of town. His friend is killed and dies in Quick’s arms. Until Quick can figure out the conspiracy his life is in danger and so is everyone else’s that he enlists for help. The problem is that one of the people he’s trying to protect but feeding information to really isn’t his friend.
I’m not sure why this book states in the summary that it’s a sci-fi. This book has so much action in it. I was glued from beginning to end.
Jay Snyder does an amazing job narrating. He narrates The Gray Man books and I always wished that he would do more. His voice is perfect for this type of book.

This book has my HIGHEST RECOMMENDATION.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intrigue at its best

Tom Abrahams always always brings the heat. This is no different. Great action mixed with a fun ending that left me looking for book two. Soon... soon.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Okay story and great narration..

This was an okay read. I really didn't understand how Jackson Quick, who was a reporter, then on the Governor's personal staff, was such an awesome shooter AND cared so little when he killed someone. He wasn't the kind of man who dealt with that kind of world. AND why was this called a sci-fi? I didn't get that either. Jackson was just too much of an ordinary person to be such a killer.

I doubt I could go on with this series. He isn't a "hero" as far as I'm concerned. He's someone who seems to get lucky at every turn, that's all.

No real romance or sex and no real swearing either.

As for the narration: The only reason I actually got this book was because Jay Snyder was narrating it. He's simply awesome.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Thriller I Couldn’t Put Down

I honestly went into this pretty blind. I mean, as blind as you can when you’ve already read almost every other book that an author has put out. So, I knew going into it what kind of action to expect, but I wasn’t sure what I was going to get story-wise. Of course, Abrahams gave me everything I wanted and more. Allegiance throws you into the deep end right away and there are scenes where I kept thinking “what in the heck is going on here” within the first few minutes.

Abrahams, as in all his other books, is able to write a story that has so much truth in it that it makes it almost creepy to read. His background, for those unsure, is a new reporter, and one of the characters in this book is that. So almost every scene with him in it I think “how much of this is true or would really happen this way” and I know that most of it is likely true.

The character of Jackson Quick was fascinating. He’s one of those action/thriller main characters that through almost half of the book you think “how is he so good at this” – but with Allegiance, Abrahams had Quick questioning it himself. He even threw in some backstory and flashbacks to start to color in Quick’s life and allow us to piece together why he was better at the things he was doing than the average Joe would be.

Overall, Allegiance was an incredible start to what I hope is a great thriller series. I can’t wait to dive into more stories with him and I can’t wait to figure out how much more Abrahams is going to give us about his backstory. Add in the excellent narration by Jay Snyder and you have an excellent story that I couldn’t put down.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loving Jay Snyder's voice

wow following my favorite storyteller has led me to another fabulous character. Jackson Quick

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book in a while

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and the authors realistic portrayal of each of the characters. I also enjoyed the narration and voices which adds to the intrigue.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable page-turner

I'm a native Texan and an Austinite so that made this book a bit more fun for me than it might for most people, but it's still a fun story and I'll be buying the next book in the series. I've got nearly 200 Audible titles in my library, so I listen to quite a few books. There are many that I either can't get through or just don't want to try, but that wasn't the case with this book. It was suspenseful enough and detailed enough to hold my attention for the entire story.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Allegiance

Lame and Bland story. Lack of Creativity. The only good thing was fantastic narrative of Jay Snyder.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

How does this have such good reviews?

This book starts off with our hero getting tortured.
Then he then has horrible things happen to him for the next 4 1/2 hours.
The book is 8 hours and 40 minutes.
The story is just physical beatdowns and confusion affecting our hero for 4+ hours.
All the while, he doesn't have a clue what is going on.
I don't have a clue why I stuck with it as long as I did.
I don't believe most of the reviews for this book.
One of the reviewers said they didn't understand how the hero was such a great shot...but the author goes into detail on the times he went shooting with his father, who declared him a "natural shot".
The narrator is good. I will give credit where credit is due. Jay Snyder did a great job with it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GREAT! I LOVED THIS BOOK!! THIS IS AUDIOBOOK #1

LOVE THIS BOOK IT WAS PHENOMENAL NOTHING EVER PREPARED ME FOR HOW GREAT THIS BOOK WAS GOING TO BE!! MY GOODNESS PEOPLE LISTEN TO THIS BOOK IT'S AMAZING
JACKSON QUICK IS AN AWESOME NEW CHARACTER FOR THIS NEW SERIES OF JACKSON QUICK NOVELS I THINK THIS IS EVEN BETTER THAN A 007 OR EVEN BETTER THAN ANY OTHER KIND OF BOOK LIKE THAT THIS IS PHENOMENAL I WAS ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT THE ENTIRE TIME. THIS IS NO BOOK TO BE THINKING IS NOT GOOD CUZ IT'S GREAT! I LOVE THAT THERE'S NOT A LOT OF BAD LANGUAGE IN IT AT ALL I LOVE THAT THERE IS NO FOUL LANGUAGE IN THIS BOOK AT ALL. I LOVE THAT IT'S A GREAT BOOK FOR PEOPLE LIKE MY BROTHERS AND SISTERS IN CHRIST THAT AS A CHRISTIAN WE JUST DON'T LIKE BAD WORDS AND I LOVE THAT THIS BOOK GIVES US A BOOK THAT WE CAN LISTEN TO YOU WITHOUT THAT HORRIBLE LANGUAGE LIKE IN MOST BOOKS. THANK YOU TOM ABRAHAM'S FOR A PHENOMENAL NEW AWESOME WONDERFUL BOOK SERIES!!!!!! YOU NEVER DISAPPOINT AND THANK YOU FOR PUTTING THE BOOK OUT THERE FOR EVERYONE THAT'S FAMILY SAFE IT'S FAMILY-ORIENTED THAT A FAMILY CAN LISTEN TO THIS BOOK AND THEIR KIDS CAN LISTEN TO IT TOO AND YOU'RE NOT GOING TO BE HORRIBLY SCARRED OR MENTALLY MESSED UP FROM TWO GRAPHIC BOOKS VIOLENCE WHICH YOU DON'T HAVE THAT MUCH VIOLENCE WHAT YOU DO HAVE SOME VIOLENCE BUT IT'S GREAT IT'S JUST ENOUGH NOT TOO MUCH AND YOU DON'T HAVE ANYTHING WHERE IT'S TOO OLDER I KNOW IT'S SAFE FOR MY KIDS TO WITH ME THANK YOU I APPRECIATE THAT VERY MUCH YOU ROCK SO HARD!!!!!!! THAT IS THE WHOLE REASON WHY I'M DOING THIS REVIEW IN COMPLETE CAPITAL LETTERS TO TRY & REALLY GET MY POINT ACROSS ABOUT JUST HOW GREAT THIS BOOK REALLY TRULY EPICALLY IS GOD BLESS YOU ALL HAVE A WONDERFUL WEEKEND!!!!😆😁😄😃😃😄😆😁😄😀😀

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronald Betts
  • Ronald Betts
  • 05-08-21

Bags of excitement

An exciting story from Tom Abrhams and will keep you listening far to late, you just have to know what happens