• Among Thieves

  • By: M. J. Kuhn
  • Narrated by: Zoe Mills
  • Length: 10 hrs
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (63 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

International Best Seller

A thrilling fantasy debut - a high-stakes heist novel set in a gritty world of magic and malice, and perfect for fans of Six of Crows!

In just over a year’s time, Ryia Cautella has already earned herself a reputation as the quickest, deadliest blade in the dockside city of Carrowwick - not to mention the sharpest tongue. But Ryia Cautella is not her real name. 

For the past six years, a deadly secret has kept her in hiding, running from town to town, doing whatever it takes to stay one step ahead of the formidable Guildmaster - the sovereign ruler of the five kingdoms of Thamorr. No matter how far or fast she travels, his servants never fail to track her down...but even the most powerful men can be defeated. 

Ryia’s path now leads directly into the heart of the Guildmaster’s stronghold, and against every instinct she has, it’s not a path she can walk alone. Forced to team up with a crew of assorted miscreants, smugglers, and thieves, Ryia must plan her next moves very carefully. If she succeeds, her freedom is won once and for all...but unfortunately for Ryia, her new allies are nearly as selfish as she is, and they all have plans of their own.

©2021 M.J. Kuhn. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Orion Publishing Group. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Among Thieves

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun! I hope the author writes a sequel

This was a fun surprise. The author left space for a series and I hope she follows through.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story held back an annoying narrator

This is MJ Kuhn's debut novel and it's a really fantastic one. i plan will on following her career closely and i think I'll end up owning everything she puts out. really interesting world building and character development carry a solid plot throughout. and the "enemies to lovers" tease is just 🤌.

That being said, the narrator held back the audible version from greatness. it's pretty noticable early on that the same audio clip is used everytime she says "Riya" and soon you'll notice the same for "Thamorr". i think she recorded the entire story mispronouncing those 2 words and when it was noticed it was too late, so they simply recorded her saying the ONCE correctly, then proceeded to copy and paste it at every opportunity. and it shows. it really took me out of the story, so much so that i ended up buying a print version and reading it instead.

if that bothers you, buy the text and read it. the story is too good to pass up. if it doesn't, give this a listen. i HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Solid story that moves quickly

This has enjoyable storytelling and plot. A lot of room was left open and unexplored which would have helped. Hopefully it's just leaving content for more in a series.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantasy Heist

This story was fun. There were a few points of characterization that made me curious. Ryia is supposed to be remorseless at the beginning of the story, There's no motivation for her to be subservient to Callum Clem. Also, when it's revealed who she is and how she came to be the way she is (which is never fully revealed in this story), she already had power. Why did she allow those monstrosities without using her power to stop it? Some of the getaway scenes seemed too easy also. There are A LOT of loose ends in this book. But one comes to expect that in fantasy with the potential for multi-book series.
If you enjoy books like Lynch's The Gentlemen Bastard series or Bardugo's Six of Crows, this is just like those books. Dark, gritty, fantastical heist where betrayals abound. Fun entertainment, but for me this won't be overly memorable.
But the reason for this review is actually to rant about the audio. The narrator was adequate. She did not try to employ too many voices that she wouldn't remember from one character to to next. But here was my MAJOR distractor which bothered me so frequently that I'd often have to rewind. The recording sounded like the narrator had read the whole book pronouncing Ryia's name wrong then had to go back and edit in the correct pronunciation. Every single time Ryia's name was spoken, it was distinctly disconnected from the rest of the contextual phrase. Every time. There were numerous other audio edits that were quite jarring as well. I do hope whoever is responsible for the audio production can find better sound editors. Once can tolerate the occasional trackable edit, but when they appear in every chapter, that's just unprofessional.
In spite of this, I didn't return the book, so it's worth the listen. Or better yet, buy the paperback and read it yourself! It'll be better that way.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Much talk but not much said

I see where the author was trying to go with this story. The world building was fun and interesting. The characters however were very boring and 2 dimensional. They seem to be just going around in circles and not getting anywhere to show for it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth the listen

The story had started a little slow, and was a little rough to get into. The way this audio book was recorded made it much harder to stick with it. However, once the story picked up I can honestly say I really enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book. I love the sarcastic humor

The heist was fun and interesting and all the characters were unique and dynamic.