• An Accusation

  • A Novel
  • By: Wendy James
  • Narrated by: Cat Gould
  • Length: 9 hrs and 18 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.19

Buy for $25.19

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A shocking crime draws accused and accuser into a complex web of secrets and lies in a twisting novel of suspense by the bestselling author of The Golden Child.

When eighteen-year-old Ellie Canning is discovered wandering the countryside, dazed and traumatized, she tells a harrowing story of abduction, captivity, and escape. An overnight symbol of survival and empowerment, Ellie enthralls an outraged nation.

Then authorities zero in on an unlikely suspect: high school teacher Suzannah Wells, identified by Ellie as the woman who kept her drugged and bound in a basement. The evidence against Suzannah is damning—vilified by the media, Suzannah’s only defense is that not a single word Ellie says is true. Suzannah has no reason to lie. But then again, neither does Ellie.

The nightmare spins out of control as disturbing details about Suzannah’s past emerge, and the court of public opinion wants blood. Even those closest to Suzannah begin to doubt her. But how innocent is she? How innocent is Ellie? And which one has more to hide?

Revised edition: This edition of The Accusation includes editorial revisions. 

©2019 Wendy James (P)2020 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

“Both gripping and timely, An Accusation’s sharp narrative will demand your attention from page one. Wendy James spins a web of mystery that will leave you feeling upside down, in the very best way. Highly recommend!”—Liz Fenton and Lisa Steinke, authors of The Two Lila Bennetts

An Accusation will grip you from page one…Intelligent, suspenseful, and masterfully paced, with a killer twist in the tail, An Accusation is domestic noir at its best, perfect for fans of Adele Parks, Caroline Overington, and Liane Moriarty.”—Better Reading 

“James brilliantly takes this historical true crime and updates it for the internet age.”Sydney Morning Herald 

What listeners say about An Accusation

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

DNF - terrible narration!

Couldn’t finish this book, the narrator is awful! This is the second book narrated by her that I cannot finish.
Sounds like she is reading rapidly through a very uninspiring grocery list... without commas!
I will just get the kindle version instead

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Kept my interest

Apparently this is based on an unsolved, 100+year old mystery, updated to current times. It was quite entertaining and unpredictable. The biggest drawback was the narration, rather flat without much emphasis. Don’t let that deter you, this is a good story if you enjoy a very twisty plot with plenty of surprises.

1 person found this helpful