1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.32

Buy for $24.32

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Bloomsbury presents And They Lived... by Steven Salvatore, read by Kirt Graves.

From the author of Can’t Take That Away comes a sex-positive, fairytale-inspired YA novel that celebrates first love and self-acceptance, perfect for fans of What If It’s Us

Chase Arthur is a budding animator and hopeless romantic obsessed with Disney films and finding his true love, but he’s plagued with the belief that he’s not enough for anyone: he’s recovering from an eating disorder and suffers from body dysmorphia fueled by his father and can’t quite figure out his gender identity. When Chase starts his freshman year of college, he has to navigate being away from home and missing his sister, finding his squad and contending with his ex-best friend, Leila, who is gunning for the same exclusive mentorship. If only he can pull together a short for the freshman animation showcase at the end of the semester.

Then Chase meets Jack Reid, a pragmatic poet who worships words and longs to experience life outside of his sheltered world. But Chase throws everything into question for Jack, who is still discovering his sexual identity, having grown up in close-knit conservative family. Jack internalized a lot of homophobia from his parents and childhood best friend, who unexpectedly visit campus, which threatens to destroy their relationship. Chase will have to learn to love - and be enough for - himself, while discovering what it means to truly live.

©2022 Steven Salvatore (P)2022 Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Critic Reviews

"Sincerely funny and heart-achingly real.... Salvatore delivers the memorable queer fairy tale readers are craving!! (Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions)

"My heart didn't stand a chance. I loved it from once upon a time all the way to its joyfully complex ever after." (New York Times best-selling author Becky Albertalli)

"A jolt of lightning to my soul. The characters are so bright, the emotion is so vibrant, and the love is exquisitely electric." (Jason June, author of Jay's Gay Agenda)

More from the same

What listeners say about And They Lived...

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    57
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

okay

it was fine. nothing new to the typical trope. the one who hurts is again forgiven to easily at the end to get to an happy ending.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXCELLENT story, WONDERFUL narration

I don't usually read YA/NA. It's not my thing. But, I wish I'd had this book when I was a teen. The story is so real and I adore Chase. The writing is top notch and I love when an author has to create poetry and creative writing for a character within a book. All in all I highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

More than a fairytale

I loved this book! I loved the romance/fairytale aspect of it, I found it so romantic, but at the same time so relatable, even to me, a middle age straight woman, Chase struggles with body acceptance, and how family members trying to help do more damage, so well written. And how he his journey to accept himself, so good!
And obviously Kit’s narration always shows n point.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

OH MY GOSH this book was so good I llllllooooovvvvveeeeeddddd it I really felt connected to the characters and I felt like I could really feel their emotions that’s how good the author wrote the book once again an amazing book and I definitely recommend it to anyone who’s looking for a realistic vision of what it’s like to be a gay young adult in a world where not everyone is excepted.
SSSSSSSLLLLLLLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYY

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED!!

I'm trying to come up with the right words to say about this book. I don't tend to listen to YA but I follow Kirt Graves on Instagram and he recommended it so I thought I would give it a go. I'm so glad I did. I swear there were times I could completely understand where Chase was coming from. And I could feel his pain. Jack... this guy. I was kind of up and down with him until you hear his story. When you understand where he is coming from, then I wanted to hug him. I spent the whole book rooting for these two. Not only did I love Chase and Jack but the side characters where awesome too! Especially Benny and Rae. They are the BFF's we all need. Kirt's narration was amazing. I could listen to him read the dictionary ;)