• Angel Maker

  • DI Jamie Johansson, Book 1
  • By: Morgan Greene
  • Narrated by: Sofia Engstrand
  • Length: 11 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (28 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.48

Buy for $15.48

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Angel Maker is the stunning first outing for DI Jamie Johansson and will have listeners on the edge of their seats. Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbø, Will Dean, Maria Adolfsson, Angela Marsons, and JD Kirk, Angel Maker is sure to cement Greene as one of your new favourite authors.

When a teenage girl is found dead in the woods, her body posed like an angel, Stockholm holds its breath. The kill bears a chilling resemblance to those of the Angel Maker, a serial killer caught two decades ago.... One who just died in prison. Detective Inspector Jamie Johansson is taking some much-needed time away from the London Met when the call comes in. Her father, one of Stockholm's most notorious detectives, caught the Angel Maker when she was just a girl, and Jamie has long since closed the door to that part of her life. But with the original case files missing, the threat of another kill looming, and her father’s reputation at stake, Jamie is drawn back to the frozen streets of her hometown to finish what he started. Has a copycat emerged? Or did he catch the wrong man all those years ago?

©2021 Morgan Greene (P)2021 W. F. Howes Ltd

What listeners say about Angel Maker

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Neeeaaahhh

Just because a book is situated in Scandinavia doesnt make it Nordic. The writing is more that of a tough, predictable American crime novel. After a few hours of tedious listening I decided to skip 25 chapters and ho direct to the last part. Surprise, surprise…..even the killer was predictable and was the one I assumed all along. Glad its over, now on to a real Scandanavian crime bool by Katrine Engberg for instance

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-05-22

Great story, fab narrator

A love a bit of Scandinavian crime, really enjoyed the story, beautiful imagery. The narrator’s Swedish pronunciation was very authentic. Love the characters

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for E M Bryon
  • E M Bryon
  • 02-10-22

The Accent are

The narration was excellent apart from when the names were spoken in the Swedish accent which made it difficult to understand almost impossible so I had to return to the written word which was annoying otherwise as I said it was impossible to differentiate the characters which intern spoiled the flow of the story

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 12-01-21

Perfect Scandi Noir police procedural

I haven't read much Scandi Noir and Morgan Greene is a new author to me. To be honest I chose to listen to this book simply because the author chose to follow me on IG and I was curious!

DI Jamie Johansson is a great kickass female character. She works for the Met but is taking a break after the shooting of a suspect, and travels to Sweden when she receives a call from the police asking for some of her deceased father's papers. He was a detective on the famous Angel Maker case, and now it seems there's a copycat.

This is a perfect police procedural with a gripping rollercoaster of a storyline, interesting characters and a brilliant setting. And that last sentence just left me wanting more!

The narration by Sofia Engstrand was brilliant and helped me immerse myself in the story.


Since listening I have learned there is a prequel series featuring DS Jamie Johansson but unfortunately it isn't available on Audible. Hopefully it will come soon 0 fingers well and truly crossed.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meep meep the meeper
  • Meep meep the meeper
  • 12-17-21

finished in about 6 sittings

A great fast paced crime story with excellent narration. The performance really immersed me in the world and I ploughed through this in no time. Great to see the next one already out!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for GalwayCat
  • GalwayCat
  • 07-13-22

A gripping rollercoaster

Truly enjoyable twists and turns and believable characters that enthralled. Finished it in one day and prayed the next book was available.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. D. Bell
  • Mr. D. Bell
  • 12-10-21

Very good

A satisfying story with expert and clear narration. Look forward to the next one soon.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ellen
  • ellen
  • 07-11-22

Angelmaker

Reader was boarding, talking to fast and making it one continuous sentence. It has the potential to bea good story

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. A. Ure
  • C. A. Ure
  • 07-11-22

Gritty story

Thoroughly enjoyed this story presentation was good too. Looking forward to continuing with this series.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-16-22

Outstanding book

The story is very good and you don’t get it until the very end - excellent book

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for almijara
  • almijara
  • 06-13-22

Brilliant

Loved it. Never heard of this writer but the first book has been brilliant. Now onto the second one.

2 people found this helpful