adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.35

Buy for $21.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"A beautiful tribute to every queer kid who's ever had to leave their home in order to find one." (Leah Johnson, best-selling author of You Should See Me in a Crown)

The author of The Gravity of Us crafts another heartfelt coming-of-age story about finding the people who become your home - perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli.

Marty arrives in London with nothing but his oboe and some savings from his summer job, but he's excited to start his new life - where he's no longer the closeted, shy kid who slips under the radar and is free to explore his sexuality without his parents' disapproval. 

From the outside, Marty's life looks like a perfect fantasy: In the span of a few weeks, he's made new friends, he's getting closer with his first-ever boyfriend, and he's even traveling around Europe. But Marty knows he can't keep up the façade. He hasn't spoken to his parents since he arrived, he's tearing through his meager savings, his homesickness and anxiety are getting worse and worse, and he hasn't even come close to landing the job of his dreams. Will Marty be able to find a place that feels like home?

Acclaim for The Gravity of Us
An IndieNext List Pick
An Amazon Best Book

©2021 Phil Stamper (P)2021 Listening Library

What listeners say about As Far as You'll Take Me

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful book and narrator create music together

Michael Crouch is one of the best narrators I have experienced. He brings emotion and the words on the page to glorious life. Phil Stamper is a wonderful author, and after reading The Gravity of Us I was so excited to read this novel, and I wasn’t disappointed. These are the kind of books I wish I had as a young LGBT youth, i’m so glad teams have this book now. Can’t wait for another hopeful pairing between author and narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Your heart will hurt in the best and worst ways...

It’s painful to see anyone, let alone a teen, feel the want to belong and to simultaneously find themselves in what makes them different. This book addresses that and all the insecurities and anxiety that comes with it. You will cringe and cheer for Marty, be empathetic and frustrated, but that’s life.

I loved this story, and I think it will resonate with many of all ages and sexual orientations.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

A real snoozfest

Will somebody please wake me up when this audiobook is over? This title is a good insomnia cure. Connect your smartphone to a pair of under-the-pillow speakers, press play and drift into slumberland. Don’t worry that you might miss part of the story as there is no story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Queer teen angst

I’ve been enjoying this genre of books for quite some time. It’s a nice escape as an adult who didn’t have the easiest coming out process. Most of the stories revolve around coming-of-age, coming out, some kind of internal emotional struggle, and often a suitor who may seem impossible to match up with. I appreciate that the author is writing about a talented young man who is rejected by his conservative family and dealing with internal emotional angst. However I haven’t been able to make it farther than a few hours in because the angst is too much. The story is nicely written in that it takes place outside of this young man’s home in about his traveling to another country. I won’t say I don’t give it A shot but I will say that I would’ve preferred something lighter :-)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Story

Heart warming story love the representation of queer stories. Kudos. Can’t wait to see what Phil Stamper will deliver next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book! Absolutely loved it!

The narrator did a great job! There were lots of accents that he differentiated very well, and really made sure each character was distinct.

The book itself was amazing and I loved it! Marty is such a relatable character, and I just really enjoyed this book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ruano
  • Ruano
  • 04-10-21

narration that made me physically cringe

It's a cute enough story! I think I would have liked it more if I'd read it myself, but the attempts at english/irish/kiwi accents nearly made me commit violence.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rai Jayne Hearse
  • Rai Jayne Hearse
  • 05-15-21

Another Brilliant Book

loved both books by this author so far, and of course it was another amazing performance by Michael Crouch. I wasn't expecting there to be a whole storyline featuring eating disorders and that's the only reason I gave it four instead of five stars. But overall, a really great read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-19-21

Absolutely incredible

I'm so in love with this story, it's unbelievable. The exploration of mental health in YA literature is always really important and this book did it really well! No critique, honestly. Really recommend this, once I started I couldn't stop listening to it. From writing style to the narrator who was a perfect fit, I loved all of it!