• Bad City

  • Peril and Power in the City of Angels
  • By: Paul Pringle
  • Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (273 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Bad City  By  cover art

Bad City

By: Paul Pringle
Narrated by: Robert Petkoff
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.92

Buy for $17.92

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Spotlight and Catch and Kill comes a nonfiction thriller about corruption and betrayal radiating across Los Angeles from one of the region's most powerful institutions, a riveting tale from a Pulitzer-prize winning journalist who investigated the shocking events and helped bring justice in the face of formidable odds.

On a cool, overcast afternoon in April 2016, a salacious tip arrived at the L.A. Times that reporter Paul Pringle thought should have taken, at most, a few weeks to check out: a drug overdose at a fancy hotel involving one of the University of Southern California’s shiniest stars—Dr. Carmen Puliafito, the head of the prestigious medical school. Pringle, who’d long done battle with USC and its almost impenetrable culture of silence, knew reporting the story wouldn’t be a walk in the park. USC is the largest private employer in the city of L.A., and it casts a long shadow.

But what he couldn’t have foreseen was that this tip would lead to the unveiling of not one major scandal at USC but two, wrapped in a web of crimes and cover-ups. The rot rooted out by Pringle and his colleagues at The Times would creep closer to home than they could have imagined—spilling into their own newsroom.

Packed with details never before disclosed, Pringle goes behind the scenes to reveal how he and his fellow reporters triumphed over the city’s debased institutions, in a narrative that unfolds like L.A. noir. This is L.A. at its darkest and investigative journalism at its brightest.

A Macmillan Audio production from Celadon Books.

"Robert Petkoff is especially effective at narrating this account..."—AudioFile Magazine (Earphones Award Winner)

©2022 Paul Pringle (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about Bad City

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    217
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow.

Aside from some brief reading of the Tyndal and Admission scandals, I was totally unaware of the drug and sexual abuse scandal with the ensuing interference by the administration of the LA Times. I am a NewsGuild member in New York and am fully aware of the working conditions and the resultant union drive by the staff. The commitment to journalism and their colleagues is outstanding. If this doesn’t convince you of the necessity of investigative reporting, nothing will. Bravo…bravo.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

You couldn’t make this up

A fascinating TRUE tale of debauchery, deceit and corruption by Pulitzer Prize winner investigative journalist Paul Pringle.
Relentless pursuit of the truth eventually exposes the duplicitous behavior of the Chancellor of USC, a world renowned ophthalmologist and Dean of the USC school of medicine, editors of the LA Times and the Pasadena police department.Overall,
a riveting unbelievable story.








2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I wanted to love it

I’m a journalist by training, and I was so excited to listen to this book. Unfortunately it didn’t live up to my expectations. The story itself is fascinating. But the author is just a little too proud of himself. Plus, he puts everyone, and I mean everyone, into the categories of saints or sinners. There are no shades of grey. Worse, though, is the narration. Every sentence is delivered with either righteous indignation or incredulity. There are parts of the book that deserve that delivery, but not every sentence. I stuck with the book because I wanted to know how it ended, but I was glad when it was over.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Enjoyed

Great story and will look for more like it. Strong performance as well. USC is woefully corrupt and yet supported by so many. Greed does terrible things, as this story highlights.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read about today’s journalism

This is a page turner about investigative journalism at its best. Reads like a police procedural. Great and inspiring story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breathtaking corruption at USC

Privileged corruption and the struggle for righteous journalism. A classic expose on the power of money and rhe evil it can foster in the wrong hands.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better than a great novel

Terrific narration brings investigative reporting through travails and triumphs. Informative about the newspaper industry, high education and justice. Leran and enjoy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gripping - until

The writing is strong and the story is gripping until Puliafito is out of the mix. Luckily, that only leaves the last sixth of the book slack. But all the internal strife with the newspaper and USC’s other scandals aren’t that entertaining. Newsworthy? Sure. But not very involving after Puliafito saga and the struggle to get that story broken.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and Engaging

Smart, insightful, LATimes journalist, tells this story with all it's tentacles, and it's powerful. Also, written to move right along. I learned a lot. The newspaper reports hardly scratched the surface.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

riveting

a real page turner. well written, powerful and compelling story that affected usc for years