adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.35

Buy for $28.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

Binge-watched Normal People and Love Is Blind and now looking to escape into another suitably steamy love story? Look no further....

Two writers, one holiday. A romcom waiting to happen....

January is a hopeless romantic who narrates her life like she's the lead in a blockbuster movie.

Gus is a serious literary type who thinks true love is a fairy-tale.

But January and Gus have more in common than you'd think:

They're both broke.

They've got crippling writer's block.

And they need to write best sellers before summer ends.

The result? A bet to swap genres and see who gets published first.

The risk? In telling each other's stories, their worlds might be changed entirely....

Set over one sizzling summer, Beach Read is a witty love story that will make you laugh a lot, cry a little and fall head over heels. For fans of The Flat Share and If I Never Met You.

©2020 Emily Henry (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"The hottest book of the summer." (Josie Silver, author of best-selling One Day in December)

"The perfect escapist romp." (Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop)

What listeners say about Beach Read

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I wish I liked this

I am so sad that I disagree with everyone on this one. I just was so bored halfway through I couldn't finish it. I didn't care about the characters. It started off strongly but their relationship was so tepid and the conflict was so forced.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finished it in a day

On a nutshell:

Great read
Didn't feel like a typical romance
Funny
Depth in the characters


In more detail:
Going into this I had wanted a cosy escape and this book delivered while still having elements that brought depth to the story and characters. It's my first time reading this author.

The book is funny and sweet which is exactly what I wanted but also had elements of family issues, dealing with struggles and exploring friendship that made the story interesting, but didn't dwell on them in a way that would get you down. These were the elements that gave you insight into the characters rather than being the focus point.

I will say there is one single cringey line in the book. When you do read the book you will spot it (hint: something about a bunny). But other than that single line it was lovely!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. Ian Aldred
  • Mr. Ian Aldred
  • 05-21-21

Not what I expected - loved it

The book grabbed me from the first chapter and couldn’t stop listening.

The story line was good and the characters were well written and the banter between them was smart.

If you want a book that’s an easy read with a good story then give this a go!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jaxslugsta
  • jaxslugsta
  • 02-19-21

Funny, romancey and an easy read

I really enjoyed listening. I felt I could relate to January and it make you want to write 😊

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Debs
  • Debs
  • 11-29-20

Loved it

I enjoyed listening to the narrator, very nice tone to her voice. I listened as I read along with the physical book. Would listen to it again, one day!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jill Kirtley
  • Jill Kirtley
  • 06-25-20

I loved it!

This was the first book I've read by Emily Henry and I loved it. For the most part it’s a light read with lots of laugh out loud funny moments, mostly due to the hilarious witty banter between January and Gus. With the wonderful and well written storyline plus the amazing narrating talent of Julia Whelan this is one book that you won’t want to miss!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Petya
  • Petya
  • 06-20-20

Beach Read

Just read it. Seriously, buy it and listen to it and get past the first chapter or two and then dissolve in it. Give it a chance and in return it will give you more than you expected, as books should 🔆🧡

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ciara
  • Ciara
  • 11-26-21

Loved it

It's such an amazing book I loved it and would happily listen to it all over again

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gemma
  • Gemma
  • 09-22-21

Wow

I have never cried so much.. I also laughed a lot and cringed and all of the emotions. Emily Henry… what and how have you done this to me? I feel exhausted by all of the feelings I have for this book. I might need to cry again. P.S to potential readers - don’t worry - this is I think a rom com

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ss1529
  • ss1529
  • 09-06-21

Disappointed

Didn't find storyline interesting. Easy to drift off, I lost track of what was going on and whether she was talking about herself or the book she was writing. Confused by some of the reviews its not a light hearted listen at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Thereyougo
  • Thereyougo
  • 09-04-21

Really good story

Normally I hate reading about people writing but this is not the only thing in this story. I like both main characters, January is easy to get on with.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for emsand
  • emsand
  • 06-22-21

I loved it!

This was so thoroughly enjoyable!
I loved the characters, and their conversations were relatable and funny. I laughed out loud more than once (something I usually don't do).

Wish I could unread it, just to be able to read it again. And again.
Performance was really good too.

Recommend!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-14-20

Perfect beach read

I read this book while on holidays at the beach. Thoroughly enjoyed it! I found it to be a classic romantic comedy whilst at the same time it poked fun at the genre. While it didn’t take itself too seriously it was also deep, thoughtful, well written and very funny. Loved it :-)

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-02-20

enjoyable book with flaws

I heavily enjoyed this book towards the last third.
once the characters expand past their love/hate trope it becomes a thoroughly enjoyable novel.

very well read too, characters and emotion are very believable.

in my opinion if you can past the middle act it's well worth it in the end

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-12-21

Recommended

first time writing a review. Im a working mother of 3 kids. Listened to this book every chance I got and first book to make me cry. I loved the story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca Burrows
  • Rebecca Burrows
  • 06-19-21

Love it !!

Great story. Totally loved the book had me hooked from the start. Great narration also.
Highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A Del Campo Hinds
  • A Del Campo Hinds
  • 06-15-21

Absolutely LOVED this book!!

What a beautifully written, gorgeous story of love, loss and forgiveness. Highly recommend this book!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jayltee
  • Jayltee
  • 06-14-21

Deeper than the name suggests

Multidimensional characters, cleverly hilarious banter and the depth to the story all contribute to making this a great listen. Loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sandra C
  • Sandra C
  • 06-13-21

I might have found my new fave

This is my 2nd Emily Henry book. I always feel trepidation when I find a book I love (You and me on Vacation) then try another by the author with fingers crossed that the first one wasn't a fluke.
1 chapter in and I was hooked. Of course I'm here for the rom com... and there's plenty of romance and comedy, but I loved the extra dimension that January and Gus's back stories and supporting characters brought to the experience.
Loved this book.
Buy it.
Julia Whelan is a narrative magician.
I wish the star ratings went to 10.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-13-21

Heartwarming, funny, five stars

Loved this book, specifically, the characters in this book. Funny, fast paced, a tender look at life and love.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Justine Smyth
  • Justine Smyth
  • 04-29-21

Thanks Emily and Julia

It was like coming home listening to Julia narrate this story. The plot was interesting and the characters complex.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-24-21

Rom Com escapism.

weekend unwind bliss! Easy narrative, I couldn't stop listening to over the weekend. Loveable characters with all the spicy bit you'd expect.

1 person found this helpful