Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.47

Buy for $24.47

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A witty, wise, and heart-wrenching novel that will appeal to fans of Rainbow Rowell and David Levithan.

Tall, meaty, muscle-bound, and hairier than most throw rugs, Dylan doesn't look like your average 15-year-old, so naturally, high school has not been kind to him. To make matters worse, on the day his school bans hats (his preferred camouflage), Dylan goes up on his roof only to fall and wake up in the hospital with a broken leg - and a mandate to attend group therapy for self-harmers. Dylan vows to say nothing and zones out at therapy - until he meets Jamie. She's funny, smart, and so stunning, even his womanizing best friend, JP, would be jealous. She's also the first person to ever call Dylan out on his self-pitying and superficiality. As Jamie's humanity and wisdom begin to rub off on Dylan, they become more than just friends. But there is something Dylan doesn't know about Jamie, something she shared with the group the day he wasn't listening. Something that shouldn't change a thing. She is who she's always been - an amazing photographer and devoted friend, who also happens to be transgender. But will Dylan see it that way?

©2016 Brie Spangler (P)2016 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Beast

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    283
  • 4 Stars
    104
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    328
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    26
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Painful to listen to

It is incredibly difficult to just sit back and listen to how absolutely horrible Dylan acts toward everyone and J.P. is just as hard to stomach. Even the "supportive" mom was really hurtful to listen to. The only character that was actually a mostly good person was Jamie. Honestly, At the end I was practically begging her to move on and never associate with any of the other characters again. It felt like watching an abusive relationship where one person knows they should run but, keeps going back over and over again.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

the writer treats the trans girl like a ploy devic

Jamie is only there so that Dylan can grow and be a better person.
Everyone in this book is terrible to her yet she is this picture of love and tolerance, like wtf, who is this for, its terrible.
this author dosnt consider trans people, people, just plot devices to better the cis characters

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

I am a trans woman and a friend suggested me this book. For the first several chapters I thought my friend must’ve been mistaken this was not a book about anything Trans and then enter Jamie wow this book is amazing and helped me put my eyes in the mindset of my husband I’m shocked at how good and how detailed and how accurate this book was. the audible reader / performer was brilliant

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible

The narrator was fine, but this book was absolutely atrocious. Firstly, the author as a woman knows nothing about male anatomy or psychology and has written a main character with completely absurd ‘issues’. Beyond that, the main character is just pessimistic and melodramatic. The two aspects together make for an abhorrent read.

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Up and down reactions

There were times when I was cringing because of the massive transphobia and times when I just really could not stand Dylan but I had to keep reminding myself that he is only 15 and though He is smart and a good person he is still only 15. When I would remind myself of that then the book would be less irritating. Jamie was a bright light!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

white Knight syndrome

Literally could not get through even a few chapters because it’s chock full of the nice guy white knight rhetoric that is just so annoying. I would have have more fun listening to the shrill screams of murder victims on repeat over a boy crying that he can’t get a pretty girl even though he’s a “nice guy”.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpectedly very nice read

This book was honestly a good read. It was an impulse buy. I have a horrible habit of throwing things in my wish list and not being able to decide which deserves a credit. I let this title sit in my wish list for ages, and even when I bought it, It was a forceful "thing." I just made myself waste a credit on something, so I wouldn't overthink it. I'm so glad I did. It was a lovely read, and it kept me interested. I usually put audiobooks on to help me fall asleep, but this one kept me awake. So, in the same way I forced myself to buy this book, I had to force myself to put it down. The narrator did an excellent job. He captured the characters well. Go buy it! Be like Shia labeouf and "JUST DO IT!"

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Boy Falls for Girl & Sparks Fly!

Would you listen to Beast again? Why?

Yes!!!

Who was your favorite character and why?

I could not stop listening to Andrew Eiden as he narrated flawlessly the voice of Dylan called Beast by everyone because of his size and friend to one jerk, JP who makes him beat up kids to collect money owed him. Andrew Eiden's rendition of Jamie, the girl Dylan meets & falls for in group. What he doesn't know (because he tuned out) is that Janie is transgender & when he finds out, he deals with it all wrong. I ached for Dylan, his life, his yearning to get signs from his dead father, and his lack of faith in his mother. I rooted for Dylan & Jamie to triumph over themselves, other's judgments, and grow to appreciate the very horribleness of the world. A must read & recommended for all libraries!

Have you listened to any of Andrew Eiden’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No, but I look forward to more of his narrations.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Whenever Dylan hated himself, I was so sad- so that was most of the book because his self-hatred was so complete.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard to feel for the MC

A cute romance filled with transphobic characters. It’s hard to pity a main character who is just so self centered and awful to everyone around him. Like I understand why Daniel is unhappy but everyone has issues, it doesn’t make sense why he’s that unhappy. His mom is literally insane though, like the most transphobic, homophobic character in this book I literally hated her so much the entire time. I honestly only like Jamie and wish she would have found some better people to be around.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Spoiler Inside

Narrator was good, sometimes it was difficult to tell who was talking but not a constant issue. the story however, was super rough. I think the most upsetting part of the entire story is that Jamie chooses to continue having a friendship, possibly more since it was left open, with Dylan after everything that happened between them. Him constantly looking for a sign from his dead father and worried more about what the dead think of him rather than the feelings of a very much alive girl made me want to bash my head against the wall. There was some small, barely there character growth from him throughout the story, but honestly there was more character development from his mother.

2 people found this helpful

.