• Because You're Mine

  • A Novel
  • By: Rea Frey
  • Narrated by: Samantha Desz
  • Length: 10 hrs and 5 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (124 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An “insidious, suspenseful tale” (J.T. Ellison) with a “shocker of an ending you won’t see coming” (Michele Campbell), Because You're Mine by Rea Frey, the author who “brings to mind Jodi Picoult” (Booklist) and “will appeal to readers of Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen” (Sally Hepworth) is an audiobook about how the truth will set you free. 

But it’s the lies that keep you safe.

Single mother Lee has the daily routine down to a science: shower in six minutes. Cut food into perfect squares. Never leave her on-the-spectrum son Mason in someone else’s care. She’ll do anything - anything - to keep his carefully constructed world from falling apart. Do anything to keep him safe. 

But when her best friend Grace convinces her she needs a small break from motherhood to recharge her batteries, Lee gives in to a weekend trip. Surely a long weekend away from home won’t hurt? Noah, Mason’s handsome, bright, charismatic tutor - the first man in ages Lee’s even noticed - is more than happy to stay with him. 

Forty-eight hours later, someone is dead. 

But not all is as it seems. Noah may be more than who he claims to be. Grace has a secret - one that will destroy Lee. Lee has secrets of her own that she will do anything to keep hidden. As the dominoes begin to fall and the past comes to light, perhaps it's no mystery someone is gone after all....

Because You're Mine is a breathtaking audiobook of domestic drama and suspense. 

Prepare to stay up all night.

©2019 Rea Frey (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Because You're Mine

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    81
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    76
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Because I Could Not Get Into This Book.....

is the reason why I gave "Because You're Mine" a 1-star review.

The book was tediously slow and, therefore, I found it impossible to make it through the book in its entirety. This being said, I am unable to comment on the surprise ending that many of the reviewers were raving about.

I honestly do not understand how this book earned so many laudatory reviews because it did NOTHING for me and I will be requesting a refund.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SB
  • 12-13-21

No, no, no, no, no...

This is absolutely awful in every way. Completely ridiculous story, unbelievable characters, and terrible writing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

Couldn't stop listening! Not only a crazy, captivating story but the narration is off the charts! I've listened to A LOT of books, but this narrator made this already animated story really come to life. I hope you have nothing else to do got the next 10.5 hours because you won't be able to stop listening!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Wow! I rarely review books bc I’m rushed with kids, and life but this was a shocking novel with some crazy stories! Highly recommend! Watch this author!! Great narration, also!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just when you think you know...

You have no idea what's coming! Even when you think the twist is revealed....hold on tight!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

a bit of a mess

probably better as a read book. I kept having to go back to listen for missing bits that weren't there. conclusion was abrupt and not satisfying. I really didn't like the adult characters and the children were just posessions to be coveted. perhaps a better ending would be for the children to figure out the scam.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG

If you like a mystery…this book is for you! Filled with twists and turns. You always think it’s one way…then you think another…and then shuffle between both at the same time until it changes again. By the end of the book you’re completely wrong, you’re shocked and you have no words. Definitely listen and closely! 😁

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Over the top good!!

I was a little bit off in the beginning. A special needs avenue that hits too close to home. I wanted to book I can escape in. But I held strong and modeled through the beginning of it. Frey takes you down a winding road which becomes more intriguing as the story moves along. The ending has a twist that you Can not imagine. Absolutely loved it. Highly suggest it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprising Ending

I did not see that coming.. What a shocker! It made the entire story brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoa.

Great read, gripping story line, many brain bending twists in the story, unexpected delight.

narrator is excellent as well!