adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An “insidious, suspenseful tale” (J.T. Ellison) with a “shocker of an ending you won’t see coming” (Michele Campbell), Because You're Mine by Rea Frey, the author who “brings to mind Jodi Picoult” (Booklist) and “will appeal to readers of Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen” (Sally Hepworth) is an audiobook about how the truth will set you free. 

But it’s the lies that keep you safe.

Single mother Lee has the daily routine down to a science: shower in six minutes. Cut food into perfect squares. Never leave her on-the-spectrum son Mason in someone else’s care. She’ll do anything - anything - to keep his carefully constructed world from falling apart. Do anything to keep him safe. 

But when her best friend Grace convinces her she needs a small break from motherhood to recharge her batteries, Lee gives in to a weekend trip. Surely a long weekend away from home won’t hurt? Noah, Mason’s handsome, bright, charismatic tutor - the first man in ages Lee’s even noticed - is more than happy to stay with him. 

Forty-eight hours later, someone is dead. 

But not all is as it seems. Noah may be more than who he claims to be. Grace has a secret - one that will destroy Lee. Lee has secrets of her own that she will do anything to keep hidden. As the dominoes begin to fall and the past comes to light, perhaps it's no mystery someone is gone after all....

Because You're Mine is a breathtaking audiobook of domestic drama and suspense. 

Prepare to stay up all night.

©2019 Rea Frey (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Because You're Mine

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Because I Could Not Get Into This Book.....

is the reason why I gave "Because You're Mine" a 1-star review.

The book was tediously slow and, therefore, I found it impossible to make it through the book in its entirety. This being said, I am unable to comment on the surprise ending that many of the reviewers were raving about.

I honestly do not understand how this book earned so many laudatory reviews because it did NOTHING for me and I will be requesting a refund.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

Couldn't stop listening! Not only a crazy, captivating story but the narration is off the charts! I've listened to A LOT of books, but this narrator made this already animated story really come to life. I hope you have nothing else to do got the next 10.5 hours because you won't be able to stop listening!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Wow! I rarely review books bc I’m rushed with kids, and life but this was a shocking novel with some crazy stories! Highly recommend! Watch this author!! Great narration, also!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SB
  • 12-13-21

No, no, no, no, no...

This is absolutely awful in every way. Completely ridiculous story, unbelievable characters, and terrible writing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoa.

Great read, gripping story line, many brain bending twists in the story, unexpected delight.

narrator is excellent as well!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Twisting plot keeps you guessing.

Books started off great. Book was suspenseful and characters we well developed and thought out. Ending was far fetched for me and was a sort of work vomited out at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Twists!

Well!!! I didn’t expect THAT ending!! I love a book with a good twist. I definitely recommend it. (Love the narrator )

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely love!

Hooked since the first chapter!!! Definitely recommend this book to men and women who want a thrill of a book with twists and turns!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow...that ending though

This story through its twists and turns had me hooked! Love a good book and this one takes the cake!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

What now???

The sequence of the story telling was at times odd and slow. The repeating of the same phrase a few different times, for what seemed like an eternity, was annoying to say the least. Hard to skip through that in an audible version not knowing how long it will last. Felt like the ending did not at all align with the self narratives of the character. It felt like it wasn’t the original ending that maybe the editor or publisher demanded something “different” or “surprising” or the writer just wanted to end the story abruptly and threw something together last minute to meet a deadline. Samantha Desz has a good narrator voice.