1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A redneck boy. An Earth-obsessed alien. And a robotic girl.... Three wildly different teenagers must work together, and accept one another, to conserve humanity. 

A breathtaking debut with Southern charm, whimsical worlds, and meet-cuteness, for fans of Marie Lu and Lois Lowry. 

Carter doesn't believe in aliens. And he certainly doesn't defend his dad's claims that they exist, even if they aired on national television. But then, the girl he's falling for starts doing strange things, magical things, things that seem a bit out of this world. 

Kokab hungers to be a Perfect in a world where her emotions are her greatest flaw. But when her planet faces extinction, her sympathy makes her the best ambassador to persuade humans to accept her people. Failure means invasion, but success means she will never become a Perfect. Ags dreams of graduating from the Academy and becoming a guardian of Earth.

Obsessed with all things human, she's eager to spend time on the unique planet. But when she uncovers an impending invasion, she's willing to lose everything, including herself, to stop it.

©2020 Immortal Works (P)2021 Immortal Works

Critic Reviews

"Human and alien, complex and sweetly personal, Carpenter's thoughtful world blends sci-fi with coming of age as three unique worlds collide. This book will make you laugh, make you fall in love, and then make you re-evaluate what it means to be human." (McKelle George, HarperCollins author of Speak Easy Speak Love

What listeners say about Becoming Human

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

REALLY GOOD SCI-FI STORY

REALLY WELL WRITTEN AND EASY TO FOLLOW.
SCI-FI STORY IS THRILLING, INTRIGUING, SUSPENSEFUL AND FULL OF LAUGHS, GOOD HUMOR AND SURPRISES THROUGHOUT.

ACCEPTABLE AND GEARED TOWARDS TEENS AND OLDER AUDIENCE.

NARRATOR IS GOOD AND EASY TO FOLLOW.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BECOMING A HUMAN

A UNIQUE ALIEN STORY FILLED WITH DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVES AND A WONDERFUL ADVENTURE! NARRATOR DID A GREAT JOB .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Engaging and original story!

Carpenter paints a vivid picture of two very different cultures vying to meet their two different intergalactic vision for peace. I love that the lead female characters were not the “strong and sassy warriors” trope,but flawed and normal. Can’t wait to read future works by this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything I was looking for!

Becoming Human was so well written, so fun and intriguing and held all the story elements that are important to me. I loved how individual and unique each character was. Loved watching the lessons they learned. So many quality life lessons and morals packed into an engaging plot line. I loved the unique alien depictions, and the idea of what it means to really be human.
She Kept me interested the whole time, never skipping a beat. ALSO the narration was perfect for the story.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves quality <and clean> sci-fi and fantasy. Also just to anyone who loves fiction, because it was such a fun story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fantastic listen!

The narrator for this book was fantastic!! There are 3 different character’s points of view all done by the same narrator. I was seriously blown away by how good of a listen this was! This seemed like a Guardians of the Galaxy meets The Host story. A battle between right and wrong, and aliens invading earth. Definitely recommend for anyone who loves sci-fi!

Thank you to the author for a complimentary copy of this audio book. All thoughts and opinions are my own and in no way biased.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Becoming Human - Audible Review - Paul Breen

Amy Michelle Carpenter’s is an intriguing YA Science Fiction novel, with vivid memorable characters, realistic dialogue, perfect pacing for the genre, and compelling conflict throughout. The narration performed by Tara K Ross had me right into the story. The characters were easily discernable, with enough variation in the inflections and tonal qualities that the telling never became boring. Her precise diction always amazed me. She nailed the qualities of the characters the way the author intended. It was great fun hearing her mimicking the boy Carter’s southern drawl, and I enjoyed her interpretation of the robotic female character Kokab, and the way she projected the emotional enthusiasm of the female protagonist Ags. Two thumbs up for the story and narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

cool aliens!

great book. neat concept. three different perspectives 2 alien 1 human, green lantern like.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent for YA and Adults

A good combo of SciFi, coming-of-age, drama and some humor. Three youths from different planets have a clash of cultures, customs and attitudes as they try to do what's right for their respective worlds. They buck against their adversaries as well as their own world governments who vie for dominance. This is a story of with a lot of heart as protagonist grows into the person they're meant to be and fate they're bound to fulfill.