• Before We Grow Old

  • By: Clare Swatman
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 10 hrs and 19 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (11 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Some people are just made for each other....

When seven-year-old Fran first met Will they knew instantly that they were made for each other. For 11 years they were inseparable, but then, at the age of 18, Will just upped and disappeared.

Twenty-five years later Will is back.

Is fate trying to give them a second chance?

Still nursing the heartbreak from all those years ago, Fran is reluctant to give Will the time of day. The price Will must pay is to tell the truth - the truth about why he left, the truth about why he’s back....

And Fran has her own secrets to hide. The time has come to decide what Fran and Will really want from life - before it’s too late.

Unashamedly romantic, Before We Grow Old is an audiobook full of love, laughter and tears, and you’ll be rooting for Fran and Will from the moment you meet them. Let Clare Swatman whisk you away for the love story of the year. Perfect for fans of Sophie Cousens and Isabelle Broom.

©2022 Clare Swatman (P)2022 Boldwood Books

Critic Reviews

"A beautifully written tale of enduring love." (Rowan Coleman)

"Irresistible.... A delightfully bittersweet story that will appeal to fans of One Day." (Sunday Mirror)

"A bittersweet debut about love, loss and second chances." (Good Housekeeping)

What listeners say about Before We Grow Old

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

upbeat for a tear jerking ending

couldn't wait to finish it even though you know the badic ending. the performance was terrific.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr Michael Harding
  • Mr Michael Harding
  • 06-23-22

okayish!

Although the story line was good, I have to admit jumping a few chapters towards the end as I got a little bored! The end was touching though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Miss j.c.saunders
  • Miss j.c.saunders
  • 04-12-22

Beautiful and heartwarming

An amazingly well written and touching story. It was beautifully narrated and was a joy to listen to from beginning to end. Would highly recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lorraine H
  • Lorraine H
  • 03-29-22

Loved this story

Loved this story, a great reminder to make the most of our lives.
narration was excellent. Really enjoyed the characters and the twists of fate.

.