• Beneath a Starless Sky

  • By: Tessa Harris
  • Narrated by: Bea Holland
  • Length: 12 hrs and 55 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (80 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.45

Buy for $17.45

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Munich: smoke filled the air. 

Lilli Sternberg’s quickening heart sounded an alarm as she rounded the street corner. Lifting her gaze to the rooftops, a roaring blaze of thick flames engulfed the side of the building and joined the stars to fill the black sky. Her father’s shop was no more.

Lilli Sternberg longs to be a ballet dancer. But outside the sanctuary of the theatre, Munich is no longer a place for dreams.

The Nazi party are gaining power, and the threats to Jewish families increasing. Even Lilli’s family shop was torched because of their faith.

When Lilli meets Captain Marco Zeiller during a chance encounter, her heart soars. He is the perfect gentleman, and her love for him feels like a bright hope under a bleak sky.

But battle lines are being drawn, and Marco has been spotted by the Reich as an officer with potential. Lilli means more to him than anything, and he knows he must find a way out.

With their lives on the line, will Marco and Lilli survive the growing Nazi threat, or do they risk losing everything in the fight to be free? 

An absolutely gripping and emotional historical fiction novel about love, courage and betrayal for fans of My Name Is Eva and A Woman of War.

©2021 Tessa Harris (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about Beneath a Starless Sky

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    60
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best I have ever listened

Wow. What a find. I just happened upon this book. Author not known to me but I will seek out more books by her when I finish this review. My favorite genre is ww1 or ww2 historical fiction. The story was so interesting and so filled with real people. . I especially have a dislike for Wallis Simpson and the abdicated duke. This is a must read/listen to for any lover of historical fiction and reality of the Jews was so horrible and cruel , I almost cried at the bittersweet end Thank you Tessa Harris

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent WWII spy-romance novel

Nice to see a smart, cunning, strong-spirited, extremely bright (tho completely fictional), Jewish dancer-cum-spy heroine in a 1930's - 1940's, historically accurate, spy novel (for the men); Or, er, romance novel, for the ladies; which takes place primarily in Nazi Germany. Ms Harris manages to introduce us to the Windsors (Wallis & ex-King Duke "David"), Goebbels, Eva Braun, the Nazi propaganda movie Titanic, and other historical figures and events. As well as the plight of all Jews in pre-war and wartime Germany, and the slow descent into Hitler's identity politics and the destruction of democracy. All in one tale! 4-1/2 🌟


2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wow

This book is seriously one of very favorite WWII books I have read in quite a long time. Just wow. Do yourself a favor. Get the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfection!

A well crafted story! It was difficult to step away from, and I was always eager to get back to it. Wonderful, easy to listen to narrator.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

No

If you can’t write the ending to a book don’t bother writing the book. Seriously this was just so poorly constructed in the last hour of the book just so disappointing. It’s really too bad. It could’ve been a good story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christineb
  • Christineb
  • 02-20-21

A great read Well narrated

I thought this story was going to be cheesy but as the story developed it was really good It had so many different storyline running through so it stayed interesting I didn't quite believe the SS soilder being a british agent he could have been a renege officer attached to like-minded germans The ending was sad but it did finish the story well