• Best Served Cold: A DCI Harry Grimm Novel

  • Harry Grimm Series, Book 2
  • By: David J. Gatward
  • Narrated by: Aubrey Parsons
  • Length: 7 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (181 ratings)

Publisher's Summary

What started in the playground will finish in blood.

When a tragic farm accident turns out to be foul play, DCI Harry Grimm finds himself up against a murderer years in the making and out for revenge.

With the local community in self-imposed lock down, and the body count quickly climbing, Harry and his team are in a race against time to stop a killer as invisible as they are brutally effective.

But with some threatening to take the law into their own hands, and the wounds of his own past once again starting to bleed, DCI Harry Grimm is about to take a trip into Hell.

And beyond.

Best Served Cold is the second book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J. D. Kirk, , Adam Croft, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J. M. Dalgliesh, J. E. Mayhew, and J. R. Ellis.

©2020 David Gatward (P)2021 David Gatward

What listeners say about Best Served Cold: A DCI Harry Grimm Novel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    119
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    125
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    102
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

2nd installment in a new series

I’m always looking for an enjoyable mystery. I particularly enjoy those set in small towns and villages throughout the UK. I look forward to spending time with characters I like and find interesting. This series has all of that.

I also want to give a shout out to the narrator who did a wonderful job!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great for puzzle solvers

the tale captures your puzzle solving brain. thoroughly enjoyable quick read. looking forward to the next puzzle

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good yarn

Enjoying this series. The author takes you to an interesting location with an interesting investigator and as he’s getting to know his new surroundings you do too. Looking forward to the next Grimm installment.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love love love these books!!

Ive listened to audiobooks for decades but never written a review. These books are such a great listen!! I love the story & the characters, all brought together so incredibly well by the reader Aubrey Parsons. I seriously laugh out loud at the descriptions of Grim’s face.
One of my favorite things about this author is the little snippets of his real life at the end of each book.
What a privilege to be able to listen to this omnibus. I don’t know what I’ll do when I’ve finished them all!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

I love these audio books. This author is very entertaining and writes a great story

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series

I am in love with this audio series! It transports me to a place where I have fond memories of walking the coast to coast.
The authors details and the terrific reading of the narrator makes me not want to get out of the car and keep driving! Now, on to book 3.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love love love

If you enjoy JD Kirks DCI Logan
You’ll love this author and narrator
Makes me wish to visit this beautiful country

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best served cold

I totally enjoyed this one.The set up for the murders was quite ingenious! Aubrey Parsons was a really good narrator.I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stick with Grimm

Didn't think I would come back for a second helping after the first, but there's something about Harry and the team which dragged me back in. The narrator is fantastic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another great book

loved this story and the writing. I laughed out loud multiple times. Aubrey is an outstanding narrator!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen
  • Helen
  • 05-24-21

amazing book


What started in the playground will finish in blood.
When a tragic farm accident turns out to be foul play,
amazing storyline

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-20-21

I’m hooked

I’m a huge fan of books where you connect with the characters and this has definitely happened with this series.Great storylines fantastic setting and even better characters- I’ve devoured two this week and am about to order the next-I just hope the series is with us for a long time

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam Wiltsher
  • Sam Wiltsher
  • 03-17-21

Brilliant

Really enjoyed, warmed to characters, especially Grimm who was brought to life brilliantly by the narrator. Looking forward to next book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-13-21

Enjoyable listen

I have listened to both Harry Grimm stories, and am so pleased I did. The narration is amazing, the stories are clever and funny. Really looking forward to the next one x

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andie Broomfield
  • Andie Broomfield
  • 05-23-21

Excellent second book in the series.

I'm absolutely loving this series. Lovable characters and an absorbing plot for this second book. As a northern girl, now living in the south of England, I have particularly enjoyed listening to the Grimm series on audible ...the fabulous northern accented narration, has really added to the experience for me and mentions of pint mugs of tea and cake with cheese bring back fond memories.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 05-11-21

Grimm is still up north!

DCI Harry Grimm is still up north in beautiful Wensleydale. However, since he arrived the crime rate in this sleepy rural area seems to have gone up considerably! This time he is called to what seems to be a farming accident, but which turns out to be something much more sinister.

The story is well plotted and sufficiently complex to keep me interested till the end (I listened in one sitting!) The setting is beautifully described, and the characters are brilliantly drawn and are beginning to feel like old friends, and I have a bit of a soft spot for Harry.

As with the first book, Aubrey Parsons was brilliant as the narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kath
  • Kath
  • 05-10-21

Another Grimm piece of work

Second in the series and another winner! Well done Dave! Gritty, humourous and brings back welcome memories of the Dales and not so welcome memories of school! Bring on the next episode of Mr Grimm!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanne v.
  • joanne v.
  • 05-06-21

Brilliant

Fantastic listen, the narrator brings the characters to live with the accents.
Love all the books in this series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anna
  • Anna
  • 04-28-21

think I'm falling in love with dci Harry grimm!

rattled through this, love the fact Grimm shoots from the hip, love the backdrop of wensleydale definitely would love to plan a trip after listening to the authors note. love the quirky eating cheese with fruit cake only northerners understand. a bit like a my grandads miners breakfast a sour apple and cheese lol southerners just don't get it ha ha
can't wait to spend the next credit I get on the next instalment. a breathe of fresh air during this pandemic is bliss! thankyou

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-22-21

Loved it

I don't write reviews for many in fact this is just the second time, the first was David's first book Grimm up North but I am hooked on these now. I love these books not only for the serious story of the crime and the twist that come with it, but the adjustment Harry has had to make moving from South to North and how he has found the funny thing people do and say. I look forward to listening to David next yarn.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for asb
  • asb
  • 12-05-21

Another gem

GatwRd has written another corker. Harry Grimm of Wensleydale is rapidly becoming one of my new favourite detectives. Do yourself a favour and start the series. You won’t be able to stop

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chrissie
  • Chrissie
  • 10-16-21

brilliant 👏

the stories you spin Dave are amazing, I'll be reading the lot. they really pull you into the tale.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for soo jay
  • soo jay
  • 09-22-21

Terribly disappointed by the narration.

I loved the first book in the Harry Grimm series and enjoyed Aubrey Parsons' narration.

But this one is almost unlistenable! Parsons sounds as if he has not quite recovered from a bout of laryngitis and I spent the first chapter just wishing he would bleepingwell clear his throat!

Subsequent chapters were a bit better, but by the end if each one, the narrator was again rasping away. Who records a book with a failing voice!? Heaven only knows what damage he did to his vocal chords.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 04-13-21

Very sad at times

Great writing and a marvellous story. Love the narrator Aubrey Parsons. David J Gatwards bit at the end of this book is well worth listening to.