adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $33.35

Buy for $33.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Commissario Alec Blume, on health leave, has retreated from Rome to central Italy. At the Villa Romanelli, he enrols in a natural remedies course conducted by a young woman named Silvana. But far from recuperating, a feverish Blume becomes isolated and sluggish with sickness.

Increasingly ill at ease in the stifling environment, the dark history of the crumbling villa and its once-magnificent gardens draw him in. And when a Romanian girl who works for Silvana’s fiancé, Niki, asks for his help, Blume is dragged into the shadowy case of a missing girl and the horrors of the garden’s malignant beauty.

©2015 Conor Fitzgerald (P)2015 Oakhill Publishing

Critic Reviews

"Fitzgerald has created another gripping mystery featuring the irresistibly stubborn Blume.... Readers cannot help but root for him.... Fans of Donna Leon or Andrea Camilleri are bound to enjoy." (Shelf Awareness)
"Alec Blume is an inspired creation...a sly, sardonic loner who gives the impression of knowing Rome better than its natives." (The Guardian)
"[An] exciting series.... If your readers loved Michael Dibdin's Aurelio Zen series, get them started on this one." (Library Journal)
"An outstanding detective." (Publishers Weekly)

More from the same

What listeners say about Bitter Remedy

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steven
  • Steven
  • 05-26-16

Out of sorts Alec Blume sorts it!

Alec Blume goes for a restful retreat in a quiet italian village, well away from Rome, but is unsettled there, and ends up investigating the disappearance of a Romanian bar girl. Excellent narration and an engaging story with Blume and his issues at the centre. Well worth a listen for fans of both Conor Fitzgerald and Saul Reichlin!