• Blackmist

  • My Best Friend Is an Eldritch Horror, Book 1
  • By: Actus
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 12 hrs and 25 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (483 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Blackmist  By  cover art

Blackmist

By: Actus
Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Damien nearly ended the world. Now, his mistake might be the only thing that can save it.

Good things come to those who wait. Damien Vale didn’t, and he ended up bound to an Eldritch creature from beyond the reaches of space. It has lived since the dawn of time, seen the world born and destroyed countless times, and wants to be called Henry.

Unusual companion or not, Damien was still determined to go to a mage college and study magic. He wants nothing more than to live normal life as a researcher, but if Henry’s true nature is revealed, he’ll be killed.

To top it all off, Damien’s teacher is a madman from the front lines of war, his alcoholic dean suspects something is awry with his companion, and Blackmist might possibly be the worst school in history. Damien has to prevent the end of the world, but he isn’t even sure he’s going to make it through Year One at Blackmist.

Blackmist is a slice-of-life mixed with LitRPG in a magic school setting. A slow-build power fantasy from Actus, the best-selling author of Morcster Chef. It's perfect for fans of Cradle, Iron Prince, and Mage Errant.

©2022 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Blackmist

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    390
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    377
  • 4 Stars
    40
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    347
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a breath of fresh air

this is the first book since iron prince, or super powereds that have enjoyed an Academy book

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good

The story line was enjoyable, a little bit slow in parts. I was surprised to that there were stats in the book. I personally enjoy them and it was a happy surprise. I also like the main characters companion. Worth the credit to me. I wish there was more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story, but...

I have no serious gripes about the story or the characters. its written well and I look forward to the next book. the narrator was okay. his voices jumped around alot in consistency, Id find myself concentrating in who was speaking more than what they where saying. he would have variation but it would slip back into his narrative voice when inflections where needed more heavily. the narration was not terrible tho. i still enjoyed the story but was occasionally dragged out my my emerson into it by the odd voice variances

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New favorite book!

I picked this book up because I've enjoyed books by Actus before, and I'm waiting for next book in the Morcster Chef series! But I found that Blackmist was soooooooo Damn Good that now I hafta wait for the next book in this series 😶😆. Of course Peter Berkrot voice narration is on par-excellent!
The book starts when Damien (MC) accidently summons an eldritch horror and they slowly but surely develop a working (and perhaps even friendly!) relationship. The book is kinda an awesome slice-of-life, mixed with a magic school (having a Harry Potter-esk feel, except with an eldritch horror familiar).
I wouldn't even classify it as a YA. It is YA but it doesn't exhibit any of the classic tropes usually found this genre!
There is so much action that you'll be engaged thoughout the entire book. So yeah once you start you may find that you can't put it down, repeating to yourself "Just 1 more chapter over and over!" LOLOL
So pick-up not only Blackmist but try the Morcster Chef as well and then you'll find yourself in the same boat! 😆

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Great characters, ends too soon.

With the subject being eldritch horrors, I expected horror, insanity and a bit more finess in the writing.

Did I enjoy the book, absolutely. I have this rating based on length, execution and subject. The author makes wonderful characters but the plot is too blunt and short.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book

Fast paced it doesn’t bug itself down in a bunch of world development that’s not needed

Not really adventure fantasy more coming of age

I liked it a lot it reminded me a little bit of a socialist path

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

New Favorite

Seriously, this story is absolutely amazing. I have not enjoyed a book this much for some time. I won't spoil anything, just get it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mage school

I enjoyed this book. I like the cover art of the eldritch horror... eyes and maws all over...
I like the MC demeanor, and friendships.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Short, but awesome

Starts well, picks up speed nicely. Honestly really like the direction it is going and excited for the next.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting

The story was very interesting and amusing. The plot was good the narration was very good. I really enjoyed the premise of the magical system and leaves a very wide range of places to go with the story. I can't wait for more in the series.


Quick description more for me. Spoilers


Lots of Ruin Use. People are able to use magic through summoned creatures. Creatures are summoned from multiple planes of existence. The main character gets a void creature. I make character than goes to a magical school. The magical school was very interesting and I enjoyed all the other characters. You find out that the void Being Is sent to mortal realms to fight a corruption, They do this by destroying all life on that planet. Very interesting series can't wait for more of it

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mansoor
  • Mansoor
  • 10-10-22

Iron prince it is not

This is not the same as iron prince no where near the same quality or depth. It’s an OK book but the characters and the story is not that well developed just OK

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-05-22

Amazing book

I really loved it, the performance wasn't perfect but it was still really good

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J Smith
  • J Smith
  • 10-19-22

“I am it who heralds the end of all light… you may call me Henry”

Really great story and really well narrated. I found myself drawn in and not wanting to put the book down. I really hope I get to hear more in the series!
This is my honest opinion on a free review copy.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-18-22

great magic school story with dark undertones

great in depth character building with plenty of mysteries to discover not my favourite narrator but that could just be my preference I feel for a coming of age story his voice just doesn't do characters justice but overall a great book I hope you continue this series as I'm kinda hooked now

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-09-22

My only problem is that it's too short

I was gonna write an in-depth review of what I like, but honestly, I can't be bothered. It's great. If you like stories of magic schools, you'll like this. I am a little worried the author will abandon this. He has several on-going book series and this is easily my favorite of his.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Twin Boulder
  • Twin Boulder
  • 10-07-22

don't bother

actus would have been better served using the time he spent on this writing the third morcester chef story