adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $16.95

Buy for $16.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Some games have teeth.

When the bloody remains of a missing gamekeeper’s dog are discovered on the moors, it soon becomes clear to DCI Harry Grimm and his team that this was no wild animal attack.

Thrust into the violent, money-driven world of illegal dog fighting, and with the worst humanity has to offer seemingly always one step ahead, Harry’s need for justice, and his own fragile self-control, will be tested to the limit.

Some people will do anything for money.

And one detective will do anything to stop them.

Blood Sport is the seventh book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L.J. Ross, J.D. Kirk, Adam Croft, Simon McCleave, Alex Smith, J.M. Dalgliesh, J.E. Mayhew, and J.R. Ellis.

©2021 David J. Gatward (P)2022 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about Blood Sport: A Yorkshire Murder Mystery

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    48
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Still enjoying the characters.

I'm still enjoying the characters and their development. The stories are interesting and varied but I just get so annoyed with the narrator reading the wrong words. It's not just the little things like bought instead of brought but 1 of the characters had a complete name change. I like his voice and accents but I am used to a higher level of accuracy that other narrator's bring. I'm looking forward to the next book but might just avoid the audiobook.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another great book in this series

At first I was upset because dog fighting was involved but it was handled with great care and ended up being very well done. love this series!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4

From a Shameful US state riddled with the
cancer of puppy mills- I was scared to listen to this volume. BUT no gory detailing of the physical tortures by the 21st century millers.... so I could relax and listen... another good book.
and mention of the SHEEP here makes me
hopeful of full explanation of 21st century
sheep rustlers.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read

I love the characters and Grimm is fantastic!! Great book! I’ve enjoyed them all so far and I’m about to purchase the nest in line. The reader is also excellent! He really brings the story to life!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

another enjoyable story in the series

the author is doing a better and better job and developing different characters why still weaving and interesting plot and premise of good versus evil something new to consider that you don't always see in mystery stories an original plot line... the narrator does a good job but it's very difficult to differentiate the different voices for all the characters

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seemed like a quick listen…

Still, I do enjoy Harry and team! Really interesting this time around, with the idea of the story. At least Harry got a dog out of it ( and a girlfriend! Nicely done!). Look forward to the next- perhaps an appearance from a certain Scottish DCI? Hmmm…

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for My Mate Murphy
  • My Mate Murphy
  • 02-14-22

Bravo, more please

Another great story of crime in the dales and again complimented by fantastic narration. On to book 8.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clive Wilkinson
  • Clive Wilkinson
  • 02-10-22

Brilliant

These stories by David Gatward really bring the characters alive. I have enjoyed every one but this is the best so far.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jack Daw
  • Jack Daw
  • 01-30-22

The Best Yet

I think this is the best in the series I have read so far . Maybe that is because Harry and his team are becoming characters that I am really taking to and are looking forward to see whats in store for them next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dave
  • Dave
  • 01-07-22

Grimm’’s Adventures just keep getting better!

I really loved this addition to the DCI Grimm series, Within a few minutes of reading or audio listening you are transported deep in to the Dales, uncovering mysteries with some really lovable characters. I now simply have to visit the place, try some of the scenic walks, sample the local beer and food…cake and cheese though? Surely not!😂

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meshell S
  • Meshell S
  • 01-02-22

Fantastic

I love the whole DCI Grimm series and this instalment did not disappoint me. I really enjoyed this book. As usual the narration is on point. Audrey Parsons really brings life to the characters. I look forward to the next book…please do not take too long lol

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah The Chicken
  • Sarah The Chicken
  • 12-23-21

Brilliant

Another great storyline, difficult at times but so well written. I’m loving how Harry is settling into life in the Dales and how tight knit his team are, they’ll always have each other’s backs.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Batesyboy1970
  • Batesyboy1970
  • 12-05-21

Excellent narration/plot - Grimm should be on TV

The 7th in this series, I've really grown to know Harry Grimm and this doesn't let you down, loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Obelix
  • Obelix
  • 12-02-21

I just can't get enough!!

My favourite audiobook series ever, I'm so glad this author keeps on writing. Humorous and exciting stories every time! And such loveable characters.

Listening to these books helps me with so many things.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ladyboss
  • Ladyboss
  • 11-29-21

Another great story!

I love these books and the descriptions of the Dales are so evocative. The narrator is brilliant, as usual. More please!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-22-21

Fantastic

I absolutely love this series and the narrator is brilliant. I’m constantly checking to see when the next book is available and can’t wait to see how things work out for everyone.I usually listen while walking the dogs and it really does feel like you’re out with friends.I was a little hesitant when I saw the subject matter but it’s so sensitively written it wasn’t an issue,can’t wait to find out what happens next.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carol
  • Carol
  • 01-20-22

Brilliant mystery with a side serve of humour

There is 'nought' better than some mystery and a laugh. Great book well narrated

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna
  • Donna
  • 12-15-21

Great

There were a few glitches in the story where there was 25 sec gaps and a part of the story missed. Notably during the interview with Eric. It stop through a sentence.
I really wanted Harry to end up with Rebecca. Grace is a start but I think his soulmate is Rebecca.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for asb
  • asb
  • 12-11-21

Another gem

Just another sparkling crime story with Harry Grimm and his wonderful crew
The story wAs surprisingly different and focused on an older death as well as a new one
Treat yourself