Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the tradition of Clive Cussler and Alistair MacLean, Blood Tide is a gripping novel of betrayal and revenge set in a remote and lawless corner of the Philippines. Unjustly blamed for a failed escape attempt from a North Vietnamese prison, James Culdee, a career US Navy noncom who has served his country with distinction for 20 years, is suddenly and unfairly forced into a disgraceful retirement. Devastated, Culdee retreats into alcoholism until he is rescued by his daughter, Miranda, a charter boat skipper whose sloop, the Seamark, has been stolen. When Miranda learns that the Seamark has been sighted in the dangerous and primitive Flyaway Islands of the Philippines, father and daughter sail off in pursuit, on a voyage that will carry them across the Pacific. Arriving in the Flyaways, where local pirates and drug smugglers are as treacherous as the hidden shoals and reefs, Culdee and Miranda join a band of Filipinio insurgents plotting to overthrow a tyrannical American drug lord, who may or may not be the same "slimy" who betrayed Culdee in Vietnam. Filled with action, suspense, and nautical lore, Blood Tide is a tale of intrigue, courage, and passion - of a father and a daughter's battle against overwhelming odds in infernal jungles where murder is a sport and madness a way of life.

©2015 Louise Jones (P)2015 Audible, Inc.

Critic Reviews

“A winner.... Blood Tide is the best high-adventure escape I’ve taken in years.” (Elmore Leonard, author of the Raylan Givens series)

What listeners say about Blood Tide

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This one brought back a life time of memories.

Days of Military believing in our great country.
Days of sailing and the Sea. Days of Ladies and drink.
Old Salts.
What goes on outside Our Country and it’s safety.
Can we trust what Our Elected and Appointed Government officials do in our world.
I thoroughly enjoy this book and it’s reader.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Confusing timeline; narrator:just fine; book:waste of time

This is one of those books where, if you were reading it, you would be flipping back pages again and again to figure out what was happening when. It is even more difficult listening to it because ….there are no pages! Too many flashbacks which were VERY annoying!
I stuck with it to the very end because I am no quitter. But, in retrospect, the book was a waste of my time.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t even finish 3 chapters

Unable to get interested.. dry, disjointed narration… I really dislike quitting a book, but this one is exception.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story

Story is to disjointed. Hard to follow. Ending was so so. Narrator was did a fair job.

.