• Blood Water Falls

  • DCI Bone Scottish Crime Thrillers, Book 2
  • By: TG Reid
  • Narrated by: Steve Worsley
  • Length: 7 hrs and 45 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (43 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

You can't drown the dead.

When the brutally murdered body of a local geography teacher is discovered at Kilwinnoch’s famous beauty spot, Blood Water Falls, the community is rocked to its core. For DCI Duncan Bone, the killing appears to be an open and shut case. But it’s not long before a sinister clue unleashes dark and deadly forces, blowing the investigation wide open, and putting Bone and his team in grave danger.

With the town baying for blood, and too many suspects and not enough answers, DCI Bone faces not only the toughest case of his career, but the battle of his life to defeat the psychological demons determined to destroy him once and for all.

Set among the dramatic hills and glens of Scotland's Campsie Fells, Blood Water Falls is the second in a series of edge-of-your-seat crime thrillers that will keep you guessing right up to the nail-biting, heart-stopping climax.

Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin, J.D. Kirk, Val McDermid and Stuart MacBride.

©2021 T.G. Reid (P)2022 T.G. Reid

What listeners say about Blood Water Falls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seriously good story

DCI Bone and his team are back at it in this action packed story! As the second book in the series, it is written as a stand alone with ties to the previous book. Reading the first will give you a better insight into the characters but you will not be left feeling lost if you have not read it yet. DCI Bone is a significantly flawed man that is seriously committed to his job, family, and fellow workmates, these commitments often lead him into chaos as he seeks to solve his cases, for the reader it keeps the action coming! The author adds just enough supporting character development to keep us fully engaged without bogging us down in detail!
The narration is top-notch, with distinct voices for each character and great cadence. Defiantly a great Author / Narrator match! I look forward to the next book in the series!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Book two does not disappoint

I absolutely love DCI Bone and this audio did not disappoint. Once again he’s caught in a murder enquiry that tests his skills and patience and when the murder starts targeting his family things get very dark. Will he find out the killer in time before anyone else get hurts and will he loose his job because he’s letting his personal feelings get in the way of the case.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic - just like book 1

After very much enjoying book 1 I couldn't wait to hear more DCI Bone adventures in book 2, and it certainly didn't disappoint. Like book 1 it was right into the action from the very beginning. This one was also fast paced, and DCI Bone is constantly thrown into 1 situation after another. (I won't go into further detail to avoid spoilers). The story is quite suspenseful and kept me guessing until the very end.

I also like the interaction of his team and learning more about their lives. I found his ex-wife annoying, yet, based on what goes on, I can (at least somewhat) understand why she does what she does. I am looking forward to book 3 and finding out what comes next for DCI Bone.

Fantastic narrator who is perfect for this series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent police drama with complicated plot

I really enjoyed the first book in this series with DI Bone and Blood Water Falls was even better. The narration was perfect and gave the characters good definition. I especially like that the different police officers all have backstories that are real, flawed, interesting and compelling. I really enjoyed Mark Mullen's battle with the strict diet his wife put him on and and all the funny things that go on there. You do not have to read the first book to understand this one. Duncan Bone is haunted by PTSD and a figure from a past crime and struggles to hold his life together. The involvement of his ex-wife and young son really tugs at the heart and he cannot seem to avoid getting them involved in the crimes he investigates, which makes things worse. There are lots of suspects and possible motives going on here and it will keep you guessing until the dramatic conclusion. The story was very believable and realistic and there is a good mix of good-old crime solving, forensics and technology. The setting in Scotland just makes it all the better! I cannot wait to read the next book in the series and see how the characters progress.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Quick Ending

Ending was a bit slap dash. Could of been better. But the rest of the book was really good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightfully surprised! More please!!

As a constant seeker of new crime/mystery/thriller authors from all over the world, TG Reid is a wonderful find! Good story lines, strong characters with all the interrelated, robust Scottish diatribes and great humor. I devoured 2 books in 2 days on Audible and really hope there is more to come from this author and his talented crew! I am invested

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nanna Engberg
  • Nanna Engberg
  • 07-08-22

Annoying main character

Bone might be the most unbearable DCI ever. I get that he has PTSD, but it makes him so impossible to like as he is aggressive and has his head up his arse most of the time. It’s not really easy to grasp how his crew can stand him.
I usually adore Worsleys great performances but here he really cannot save it. Stopped before the end because I got so annoyed with the constant fits from Bone.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cut-price Biggles
  • Cut-price Biggles
  • 05-30-22

Bone is an awful policeman

I liked the previous books but in this one Bone is petulant and unbelievably stupid. For a change I was actually rooting for the "powers that be" to remove him from duty.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-27-22

Poor

Why add "he said/she said" after sentences spoilt the book. Heard narrator before Steve is very good but not with this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sally
  • Sally
  • 06-22-22

Definitely need more like this…..

Great listen, best narrator ever ! Narrators make or break a book … Steve Worsley is the best

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Steven Moore
  • Steven Moore
  • 06-17-22

keeps you listening

really good listen, I enjoyed the first book and thought this story was better, the banter between the work colleagues is great and makes you chuckle whilst listening and the storyline keeps you gripped until the end. You get a real feel of the characters and the narration is great 👍

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ALWAYSTHEBRIDE
  • ALWAYSTHEBRIDE
  • 06-07-22

Hard to stop listening

A gritty narrative. Fast moving. A couple of times I thought I’d worked it out but no. It kept me guessing

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew Howard
  • Andrew Howard
  • 06-05-22

Gripping story-line

Having immensely enjoyed the first book in this series, featuring DCI Bone and his team, the second did not let me down. Duncan Bone is suffering from PTSD from a previous case and, at times, struggles to hold it all together. This is gripping and has plenty of twist and turns within its excellent plot. The story presents a terrific description of the scenic area known as Blood Water Falls (you could almost be there), and the banter between the police team is something to behold - they are obviously friends as well as colleagues. Again, perfect narration by Steve Worsley and I highly recommend. Thankyou to TBC Audible listeners group for my copy, the review is my own.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bethany Gordon
  • Bethany Gordon
  • 06-05-22

Great 2nd book

The audio version of the 2nd DCI Bone series. Still fighting his demons DCI Bone and his team become involved in the search for a missing teacher. At times allowing his demons to overrule his emotions you wonder whether he will survive the case. But with a great team around him, the investigation soon starts to take shape. The descriptions of the area really brought to life the location and this was another fast paced thriller. Looking forward to the next in the series.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Le Heup
  • Sue Le Heup
  • 05-31-22

Second one in this series

Another hit, great characters, the book is a mix of crime and can also be funny at times

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Roberta Vella
  • Roberta Vella
  • 05-29-22

Another unputdownable read

This is the second book in the series and again it did not disappoint. Not only is it a good story but the writing style makes one feel as if they are actually there seeing it all. The narration by Steve Worsley is excellent too.