Audible Premium Plus. Only $5.95 a month for the first 4 months. Get this deal! $14.95 a month after 4 months. Cancel anytime. Offers ends December 31, 11:59pm
  • Book of Night

  • By: Holly Black
  • Narrated by: Sara Amini
  • Length: 12 hrs and 33 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (1,423 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Book of Night  By  cover art

Book of Night

By: Holly Black
Narrated by: Sara Amini
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $20.90

Buy for $20.90

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Number-one New York Times best-selling author Holly Black makes her stunning adult debut with Book of Night, a modern dark fantasy of shadowy thieves and secret societies in the vein of Ninth House and The Night Circus

In Charlie Hall’s world, shadows can be altered, for entertainment and cosmetic preferences—but also to increase power and influence. You can alter someone’s feelings—and memories—but manipulating shadows has a cost, with the potential to take hours or days from your life. Your shadow holds all the parts of you that you want to keep hidden—a second self, standing just to your left, walking behind you into lit rooms.

And sometimes, it has a life of its own.

Charlie is a low-level con artist, working as a bartender while trying to distance herself from the powerful and dangerous underground world of shadow trading. She gets by doing odd jobs for her patrons and the naive new money in her town at the edge of the Berkshires.

But when a terrible figure from her past returns, Charlie’s present life is thrown into chaos, and her future seems at best, unclear—and at worst, nonexistent. Determined to survive, Charlie throws herself into a maelstrom of secrets and murder, setting her against a cast of doppelgangers, mercurial billionaires, shadow thieves, and her own sister—all desperate to control the magic of the shadows.

With sharp angles and prose, and a sinister bent, Holly Black is a master of shadow and story stitching. Remember while you listen, light isn’t playing tricks in Book of Night, the people are.

Praise for Holly Black:

“Black is a master at world-building.” (The New York Times Book Review)

“No one writes like Holly Black.” (John Green, number-one New York Times best-selling author)

©2022 Holly Black (P)2022 Macmillan Audio

Interview: Holly Black Appreciates a Good Con

'One of the things that we really like about flawed characters is that we recognize ourselves in them.'
-0.00
  • Book of Night
  • 'One of the things that we really like about flawed characters is that we recognize ourselves in them.'

Editorial Review

Free tips to become a con artist
We know and love Holly Black from her fantasy stories for kids and teens, but Black has upped it a notch with her adult debut in Book of Night. She’s given us an imaginative urban fantasy with a take on shadow magic that feels so familiar as to be not far from our own reality. Our heroine, Charlie, is trying to be a retired thief and con artist, but it’s so hard to stop doing something you’re good at, even when you know it’s not right, isn’t it? Charlie is working as a bartender when her seedy past comes slinking back in the form of a murderous glomist (a shadow-magic wielder). Sara Amini, a fresh voice to audiobooks, thrives as the narrator here, breathing life into Charlie with a slightly smoky voice and sardonic tone. I loved journeying into the middle of this world, and I didn’t want to leave. Holly: a sequel, please! — Melissa B.

What listeners say about Book of Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    773
  • 4 Stars
    393
  • 3 Stars
    186
  • 2 Stars
    53
  • 1 Stars
    18
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    872
  • 4 Stars
    307
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    673
  • 4 Stars
    361
  • 3 Stars
    168
  • 2 Stars
    57
  • 1 Stars
    21

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just what I was expecting, but maybe not for all

All of Black’s books have this gritty darkness to them, drawing out the shadows of her characters’ thoughts. I feel like she explored that more in this story. Like all of her main characters, Charlie is an underdog with a low opinion of herself brought on by a past built full of people that were too flawed (or maybe too human) to teach her differently. It takes a lot to like Charlie, but in the end we all have enough darkness to relate. The love interest is a slow burn. It takes a while for Vince to open up and become a solid character, which Black executed well. I didn’t have much interest in him in the beginning, but he became a crucial part of the story as he became more solid (the irony is not lost on me).
There is a dynamic with Posey that could have gone either direction. Sibling rivalry and family is usually a strong theme in Black’s stories, and she uses it well here. In the end, you can’t help but to root for the underdog even if you aren’t a big Charlie fan. To those expecting Black’s YA coming of age reg, this is an adult book. These characters aren’t discovering their self worth in a new grown up world trying to find meaning. They are ALL flawed, already uncompromisingly jaded and understand the game and know how screwed up society is. They’re just finding ways to play the game by their own rules. No shine of idealistic youth, no gleaming optimistic outcomes, and no need to cherry coat anything to make a character likable.
I enjoyed this immensely, but I can understand it not being everyone’s cup of tea. I knew it would end in a cliffhanger, but it still got me. I can’t wait for the next book!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It is Different… But a Good Different!

I have been a huge fan of Holly Black since I was probably around 5-6 when I read Spiderwick. I love pretty much everything she ever writes, so I was, of course, ecstatic when I saw that she was coming out with her first novel geared more toward adults (which is, unfortunately, what I am). While it is different than what I know and love from her (spoiler: there are no fairies), the writing style, the character development, and the world building is the same Holly we know and love. Readers (or listeners) who are expecting a romance the likes of what we saw in the Folk of the Air series only more… adult(?) will probably be disappointed in this books romantic escapades, but the main character has a similar feel to Jude, only more grown up and grittier. The world Holly builds is familiar and foreign all at once and makes you want to take a look at your own shadow a little more closely. All in all, I loved it and devoured it in two days. Definitely not disappointed, and I will definitely be reading through it again soon!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Holly's work

I hope there is a sequel this was amazing story. please keep doing what you do

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected

I couldn’t get into it- I tried! I enjoyed The Cruel Prince series. But this was… boring. Just boring.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holly Black Forever!

It is as perfect as I’ve come to expect from this word smith. Thank you !

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

your shadow is magical like (Peter Pan's is)

A girl learned to steal/con at a young age has many secrets but her boyfriend has more, and isn't all quite there. Salt a rich man will do anything to see how far he can go!
I love this book not exactly a murder mystery, but lots of twists and turns.
spoiler;**It also leaves it open for another book. I hope she can get (steal) reds heart.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting, fresh, and unique

I love This authors work but this latest book took it to the next level. I listened to it 3x and am buying the hard back to have forever. Kudos to the voice actress as well. I am picky about female narrators and I am actually going to look into her other work as well. Well done.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Great world. Interesting plot. looking forward to more in this series. Definitely worth the credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bravo!

It's amazing because just when you think people are running out of ideas on things to write about in this genre here comes a story that is both intriguing and completely Is creative in its concept. The book leaves you with hopes for the next book to come. I can't wait to see what will come next.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

AHHHHHH

THIS BOOK IS INCREDIBLE it’s so well written!! It’s realistic and imaginative simultaneously, the characters are so well developed and distinguished!!! I LOVED THIS I NEED A SECOND BOOK

1 person found this helpful