• Born to Be Hanged

  • The Epic Story of the Gentlemen Pirates Who Raided the South Seas, Rescued a Princess, and Stole a Fortune
  • By: Keith Thomson
  • Narrated by: Feodor Chin
  • Length: 9 hrs and 41 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (214 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Born to Be Hanged  By  cover art

Born to Be Hanged

By: Keith Thomson
Narrated by: Feodor Chin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Discover the “fascinating and outrageously readable” account of the roguish acts of the first pirates to raid the Pacific in a crusade that ended in a sensational trial back in England—perfect for fans of Nathaniel Philbrick and David McCullough (Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lost City of the Monkey God​)

The year is 1680, in the heart of the Golden Age of Piracy, and more than three hundred daring, hardened pirates—a potent mix of low-life scallywags and a rare breed of gentlemen buccaneers—gather on a remote Caribbean island. The plan: to wreak havoc on the Pacific coastline, raiding cities, mines, and merchant ships. The booty: the bright gleam of Spanish gold and the chance to become legends. So begins one of the greatest piratical adventures of the era—a story not given its full due until now.

Inspired by the intrepid forays of pirate turned Jamaican governor Captain Henry Morgan—yes, that Captain Morgan—the company crosses Panama on foot, slashing its way through the Darien Isthmus, one of the thickest jungles on the planet, and liberating a native princess along the way. After reaching the South Sea, the buccaneers, primarily Englishmen, plunder the Spanish Main in a series of historic assaults, often prevailing against staggering odds and superior firepower. A collective shudder racks the western coastline of South America as the English pirates, waging a kind of proxy war against the Spaniards, gleefully undertake a brief reign over Pacific waters, marauding up and down the continent.

With novelistic prose and a rip-roaring sense of adventure, Keith Thomson guides us through the pirates’ legendary two-year odyssey. We witness the buccaneers evading Indigenous tribes, Spanish conquistadors, and sometimes even their own English countrymen, all with the ever-present threat of the gallows for anyone captured. By fusing contemporaneous accounts with intensive research and previously unknown primary sources, Born to Be Hanged offers a rollicking account of one of the most astonishing pirate expeditions of all time. 

©2022 Keith Thomson (P)2022 Little, Brown & Company
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: History

Critic Reviews

“What a rollicking ride! Born to Be Hanged is serious narrative history delivered as gripping entertainment, with all the panache of an adventure novel. Keith Thomson unspools the excesses and escapades of the high seas in what we come to see is truly the Golden Age of Piracy. From the signing of the buccaneers’ initial charter to their life-or-death trial back in England two years later, I followed every battle, chase, and standoff with rapt attention. Thomson not only brings the seventeenth century to life in vivid detail; he weaves his humor and keen observations into the character studies of the pirates themselves. This book is a riveting historical delight not to be missed.” (Keith O’Brien, author of the New York Times best seller Fly Girls: How Five Daring Women Defied All Odds and Made Aviation History)

Born to Be Hanged is swashbuckling narrative nonfiction at its best. Thomson skillfully weaves in the history and geopolitics of the period even as he puts the reader in the middle of an action-packed thriller that does not let up. By the end of this myth-busting, stranger-than-fiction tale, I wanted to raise a tankard of rum and toast the death-defying adventures of the greatest buccaneers of the seventeenth-century.” (James L. Swanson, author of the New York Times best seller Manhunt: The Twelve-Day Chase for Lincoln’s Killer)

Born to Be Hanged is a thrilling tale of piracy in the South Seas, replete with pitched and bloody battles, treasure hoards, a daring rescue, violent storms, shifting allegiances, mutiny, and a dubious trial. It is full of so many fascinating details and surprising twists and turns that you will not want to put it down until the very end. A wonderful contribution to the history of piracy, and a welcome addition to every pirate lover's library.” (Eric Jay Dolin, best-selling author of Black Flags, Blue Waters: The Epic History of America’s Most Notorious Pirates)

What listeners say about Born to Be Hanged

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    115
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    57
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating tale of 17th Piracy in the Americas

Well-written and witty. Based on the journals of several pirates of the same crew, Born to Be Hanged relates the joys, the dangers, and the revelry of a crew of English pirates in the seas off the American coasts. The detail of the story is authentic and harrowing, and also happens to have formed the basis of Robert Louis Stephenson’s fictional Treasure Island. A jolly good time was had by … well, some at least.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Great Title, but Dull Book

Some interesting history that included descriptions of the bugs and swamps these poor pirates suffered through, but that was not enough to keep me enthralled.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible narration

I’m sure this story is gripping and edge-of-your-seat entertainment like the reviews I read said, however, the narration is SO BAD I couldn’t get past the third chapter. I tried many different speeds, but it sounds forced and mechanical and is distracting from the story.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

I was on edge for most of this book. Amazing narration, wonderfully written, and a must listen!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So Good!

I recently read The Republic of Pirates, Empire of Blue Water, and Real History of Pirates and paused before starting this one. All of the above were wonderful, but I thought this might be more of the same. But I loved this one, too, and was disappointed to reach the end. It was nonstop adventure--really amazing!!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not ready for prime time

Character developement is lacking. Hard to understand why 17th century folks would risk horrible deaths to cross the Darien and sail the Pacific.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly Recommend

So well written to capture humor and irony. It’s incredible what these “brethren of the coast” were able to accomplish (and survive) repeatedly with meager supplies and perpetually outgunned (at least by numbers). History isn’t my normal genre and I was pleasantly surprised in every way. Well worth a read (or listen).

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Pirates!

What a great & well told story/history! Intriguing & fascinating, I am already looking forward to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story but . . .

The book is a slow starter due both to weak writing and worse yet - the reader. But after looking past the reader, the story picks up and gains momentum. It’s a good book on historical pirates, so hang in there and get past the slow start. You’ll enjoy the book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Pirate History

This book was a pleasant surprise the exploits of these pirates made for a great listen.