• Bring Her Home

  • A total gripping serial killer thriller full of nail-biting twists
  • By: S.A. Dunphy
  • Narrated by: Shelley Atkinson
  • Length: 9 hrs and 23 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (9 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Blonde hair so bright it almost glows. Eyes wide – green, like her father’s. An innocent young woman who thought she had her whole life ahead of her. Can Jessie bring her home?

When Penny O’Dwyer is snatched from the quiet streets of Cahirsiveen, a small town in the west of Ireland, her family is distraught. Bright, beautiful, career-driven, she had the world at her feet. Local police scour the muddy hills surrounding the town, but, finding no leads, they turn to criminal behaviourist Jessie Boyle.

Jessie swore she’d never return to Ireland. But grieving the death of her partner, and the premature end of her London career, she can’t say no to the case that holds her homeland in its grip. And it’s not long before Jessie uncovers something everyone else has missed: Penny isn’t the first girl to go missing.

Going back decades, women have been taken from around Cahirsiveen, their bodies found on ancient burial mounds and the forgotten sites of prehistoric forts. A reference to a little-known Celtic myth buried in her messages convinces Jessie that Penny is the latest victim of the same killer. History and folklore can do funny things to a small community in the misty mountains, and Jessie suspects she’s dealing with the most twisted mind of her career.

The eyes of Ireland are on Jessie and her new team, and as the boss turns up the heat, they learn to live and breathe the case. But Jessie is haunted by her own demons, and the cracks are beginning to show.

Time is running out. And just when Jessie thinks she’s found a vital clue linking the victims to a remote farm, she realises she could be next. Can she piece together the face of evil and save Penny’s life, or will he get to Jessie first?

An absolutely gripping mystery thriller with a detective who will stop at nothing to find justice. Perfect for fans of LJ Ross, Lisa Gardner, and Robert Dugoni. 

©2021 S.A. Dunphy (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Bring Her Home

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for margaret frew
  • margaret frew
  • 01-18-22

enjoyable but predictable

loved the narrative ,and reference to Irish folklore a bit predictable at the end knew the culprit mid book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • 12-12-21

A decent start

An interesting introduction to a new series. The lead characters and the back story drag you in. Not sensational but has potential. It's a nice change to have something set in Ireland giving a sense of something fresh. I will be looking for the next book. The narrative is well read and engaging.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kathyf1babe
  • kathyf1babe
  • 10-16-21

entertaining but a bit far fetched

I didnt struggle with the characters and I was hoping that seamus and Jessie would hit it off. The balor, apprentice and oros were a bit much to take in. But still I finished it and would recommend it as an entertaining read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MRS MARTINA THOMPSON
  • MRS MARTINA THOMPSON
  • 10-08-21

Boring

Disliked most of it. If I’d wanted a potted version of Ireland 400yrs bC I would have bought a history book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-16-21

WOW

captivating story, found it difficult to put it down. SA Dunphy is a magically discriptive writer. Excellent naration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Bland
  • M. Bland
  • 09-08-21

Indefensible

Terrible, derivative dribble. I read it so you don’t have to, give this a body swerve

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sandra healy
  • sandra healy
  • 07-11-22

Gripped from the first paragraph

Great story line and characters. I haven’t enjoyed a book as much in ages. I literally couldn’t stop listening. The narrator was perfect, I really hope she continues with the next book.
The story line was really good and the characters were introduced so well, there was a good flow to the book. Normally I’d get a bit lost with so many different people but I didn’t here.
I read a lot, and I like this genre. I’ve read loads of Ruth Rendell, Patrica Cornwell, James Patterson, all of those and this author is as good as any of them.
Being Irish myself, I loved the descriptions of the landscapes and the bit of Irish language.
I can’t wait for the next book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for bethelcallin
  • bethelcallin
  • 10-21-21

BofB

Love the twists & turns… can’t wait for the next book
& see how the team work on another case. 💖