• Buffalo Bayou

  • A Noir Crime Thriller
  • By: Tom Abrahams
  • Narrated by: Jason Culp
  • Length: 7 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (2,517 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Detective John Druitt is new to homicide. His first case is a young woman found in an urban bayou. He immediately sees clues that lead him places he doesn't want to go. But his own demons may be the clue to solving the mystery of the woman's death. And as the case widens, so do his new partner's suspicions about his past and motivations. 

Buffalo Bayou is a dark, psychological thriller perfect for fans of Michael Connelly, Karin Slaughter, and James Patterson.

©2021 Piton Press LLC (P)2021 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Buffalo Bayou

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,180
  • 4 Stars
    717
  • 3 Stars
    417
  • 2 Stars
    126
  • 1 Stars
    77
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,353
  • 4 Stars
    589
  • 3 Stars
    240
  • 2 Stars
    57
  • 1 Stars
    43
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,063
  • 4 Stars
    589
  • 3 Stars
    390
  • 2 Stars
    141
  • 1 Stars
    94

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One I Won't Soon Forget

Buffalo Bayou isn't anywhere near my first Tom Abrahams book, but it's definitely the first in this genre. The benefit of reading an author I enjoy is that going into it, I know what to expect. But it being a new genre it's all "new". Abrahams absolutely crushes this genre and I wouldn't be surprised if this book is the first of many that he writes. As with most of his other stories, he likes to write about the Houston area since that's where he's from and you can really feel it in the way that the city is talked about. The city becomes another character instead of just a backdrop to the story. Buffalo Bayou couldn't have been transported to another city and feel realistic. It's the way Houston is written about that makes it feel like such a part of the story.

I realized pretty quickly that this one was going to be a hard review to write. Not because it was a bad story, but because it was such a good one that all of the twists and turns make it spoiler-ridden if I try to talk about any of the major things going on in the book. I can't even compare it to the other story that it reminded me of since it'll be a bit of a spoiler itself. Just know that you're getting all of the good things that Abrahams is known for but with the darkness-meter turned up to 11.

In Buffalo Bayou, Abrahams shows off a darker side that he alludes to and maybe even talks about a bit in some of his Post-Apocalyptic stories - but in this, the darkness is front and center. One of the main characters is easily one of the darkest individuals I've read about in any book. Definitely up there with the enemies that Battle faces in the Traveler series.

Overall, an excellent story from an excellent writer. One I won't soon forget.

I thought Jason Culp did a great job becoming Druitt and his narration was well-done for this style of book. In the beginning, I had a hard time getting used to his cadence but that quickly fell away. I did want to call out that the opening and closing voice didn't say Abrahams's last name right, or the name of his publishing company, Piton Press. Something that the casual listener won't notice but something that got me (maybe it was the producer?) I'm glad that Culp didn't have similar issues throughout the book.

25 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No suspense, just gratuitous violence

We were looking for a mystery/suspense novel, but the "who" dunnit is revealed immediately. All that follows is violence.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Gave it a shot. Shouldn’t have.

I wanted to give up on this book twice in the first chapter but the 5 star reviews here and on Goodreads convinced me to stick around. I shouldn’t have.
The reviewers comparing the protagonist to Dexter have a horrible view of the victims of human trafficking. This anti-hero is no hero. He’s sick and his monologues do not justify his actions or make me second guess his self-righteous entitlement.

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unique! Captivating.

This book had me drawn in from the first second. It only took me 3 nights to finish, and I really only listen at night when I go to bed. The narration was great. Clean, crisp and flowing. The story is one of a kind. It’s not your typical crime novel by any means. Very noir and very interesting. Highly recommended!

15 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pay Attention!

Pay attention and keep up! This book has no slow spots. And it’s not what you think it is. I was put off at first by the old-time-detective story feel of 1st person Narrative. But you aren’t stuck in the ‘50s, it’s just the Narrator’s style (to me, anyway). It’s placed in modern times, cell phones included. The characters are easy to follow, because the detective continues his own point-of-view throughout. Every twist & encounter is news to both of you. That’s a difficult feat for any author; but Abrahams is a master! I’m going to find more of his work. This was great!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen!

As a Texan who has lived in Houston and worked for the prison system for over 25 years, I loved the authenticity of this book. Only one flaw…. The author refers to “the chair” instead of “the needle” when talking about the prospect of his own execution.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting.

Wish the author wrote more like this! An interesting story line. I just discovered this author.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IN THE BEGINNING

This is a great listen. You know who the killer is by the second chapter, but you don’t know how he got there until mid way through the book and you will be Dying to know how it ends.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So glad this was free!

I only made the first chapter! You know who the murderer and his suppose to be a good guy! It’s not for me!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I didn't finish.

I just couldn't get into the book. Right from the start you know who the killer is & he's a really sick puppy. He ruthlessly kills people and gets away with it over and over again. I didn't care enough about the characters to find out how they caught him.

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronald Betts
  • Ronald Betts
  • 05-15-22

Some strange twists

Not what you expect, you think good cop in a strange relationship then you find not such a good cop after all ah ah.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wilson
  • Wilson
  • 02-18-22

I almost didn't get past the first few chapters...

... but I am so glad I did!

Yes, this is a dark (very dark) book. However it was refreshing not to have to stop listening to a book of this kind because of gratuitous gore and horror which always strikes me as tabloid style thriller writing. I thought knowing the "twist" about the main protagonist at the start would make it a dull listen (why I wasn't sure I would continue) but that wasn't the case at all.

This book is dark in its outlook on the human condition and our place in the world. The skill in writing is superb, until his final descent I found myself wanting to like the killer as well as being appalled by him, thus showing the enormous conflict caused by such people and the charm with which they move through their "missions".

The descriptions of the environment are so vivid I felt I was there (even though I have no experience of bayous). They help create an atmosphere which adds richness to the quality of the writing and story.

I didn't feel like I had to suspend my disbelief at any point, this felt real. Sure those who move in law enforcement circles would probably see more holes than in my socks, but I have no experience of that. Therefore, this book quietly and skillfully wormed under my skin and I could not stop listening.

Jason Culp is a fantastic narrator, one which I haven't encountered before. On the strength of this book I'll search for more narrated by him.

I'll definitely look for more books by this author, even though I understand this is venturing into a new genre for him. I'd be willing to give other types of book written by Abrahams on the strength of the quality of this piece.

This is a genuine review. I have no affiliation to the author, narrator or publisher. I hope you will find the same in this book as i did.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gavingks
  • Gavingks
  • 10-29-21

Good yarn

The story is not really very believable but it has pace. Vaguely put me in mind of American psycho; in that you liked a clearly flawed person

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ELL
  • ELL
  • 08-14-22

would work better as a movie

the main character was an attrocious person. it made it hard for me to invest in any of the characters in this audiobook. that being said, it was an interesting take on the genre and had some strong female characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Donna Skelton
  • Donna Skelton
  • 06-04-22

interesting story

this was an interesting read. the twist was a big one. I enjoyed the believable voices
not a block Buster but a worthwhile read.