adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When 22-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

©2005 Jennifer Worth. (P)2014 HighBridge Company.

Featured Article: Dream Big—Meet the All-Star Cast of The Sandman: Act II


Immerse yourself in the world of The Sandman right now with an unforgettable audio experience. The star power alone is worth the price of admission—the cumulative amount of awards that have been won by the cast over the course of their careers is simply staggering. The cast features some of the most talented and esteemed actors working today. So let's dive right into the who's who of The Sandman: Act II.

What listeners say about Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,496
  • 4 Stars
    230
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,427
  • 4 Stars
    145
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,319
  • 4 Stars
    220
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hated to see it end...

"Call The Midwife" was my favorite book last year and I snatched up the last two in the series as quick as I found them. Although each book could stand alone, I still recommend reading it first. This book goes back to the actual midwifery work with real life experiences being shared much like Book 1. Deliveries are followed step by step, botched abortions, infanticide, tuberculosis, single mothers, didn't know was PG moms, hair-raising situations... and again its not for a young reader as real life is accurately portrayed. This book wraps up the work of the midwives, as the 60's brought birth control and the closing of East End "slums" and in the end Jenny shares what happened to all the main characters. If you loved CTM, you will love this. Just as a note the BBC has made it into a popular TV series that can be viewed on Netflix.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gritty and Real

There are parts of this series of books that just broke my heart. To hear of the poverty and cruelty of this era and place, was sad as well as graphic. Sometimes you will need a strong stomach, because it is written by a nurse that saw and experienced many atypical things that we wouldn't come across much today. I love the writing and it was hard to see the book series end. All three books were so interesting and well-written. A group of stories that needed to be told.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful ending to a great series!

I purchased all of the Call the Midwife books. I really enjoyed this particular one. I'm not sure if there was in any repeating from the first books or if I just remembered the stories from episodes in the show. Regardless, it didn't feel redundant and I was entertained throughout. I love that all of these books were history told through true life story. The lives these people lived were incredible and you can really feel the what life must have been like. Worth is really good at that.
This book seemed to solely focus on women's stories, and a lot about the hardships of taking pregnancies to term in a world where their lives sounded a bit hellish. I will admit that there were parts of the book which were highly uncomfortable to hear, and I'm not squeamish. But I kept thinking "if this is this uncomfortable to hear about, what must it have been like to actually physically experience it?" I'm highly grateful to be a woman in this culture, at this time.
The narrator, as usual, was fantastic. I could listen to her all day.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I'm glad I listened.

after I finished listening to this third book of call the midwife series, it dawned on me how much I'd have missed if I had read the book. the audible language has a very important part in this story, and listening gave me a better understanding of that and it's characters. I loved these books - historical, medical, romance, comedy, drama, religion - awesome.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A fitting end to a trilogy

Where does Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Fairly high. The memoir series is not complete without it; you find out what happens to all the characters you've come to know and love from Call the Midwife and Shadows of the Workhouse.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End?

Chummy's wedding, by far... very sweet, funny, and touching.

What about Nicola Barber’s performance did you like?

This is probably her best performance, better even than Shadows of the Workhouse. I will be checking out other performances of hers. Fun singing, accents, quiet sadness... stunning!

Any additional comments?

Great fitting end to a trilogy of short vignets. It is more personal than Shadows of the Workhouse, but not as personal as Call the Midwife. But it is a wonderful addition to any library, a tribute to a bigone era.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great end of series

Well worth the time and effort. The series are well written and the narration was fantastic

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Call the Midwife - didn't disappoint

The narrator is fantastic, taking on so many different roles. I loved the series. favorite character Sister Monica Joan.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved the end of the trilogy

I loved the end of the trilogy. if you haven't read the first two books be sure you do.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sad this is the last book.

I could have listened to the books for forever. Such intriguing stories of early medical history all while helping the reader understand the patient and nurses! Loved these books! Narrative was excellent!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

tears of sorrow and joy

Like the others in this series great joy and sadness expressed eloquently.
Very lovely listen this.

1 person found this helpful